Lag problems in games

Like to play games? This is the place to talk about it.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Lag problems in games

Postby LOGAN-MR » Mon Feb 24, 2003 9:22 pm

xp2100 , shuttle ak32, 640mb ddr, g2ti 64mb ddr , cable modem , have the latest drivers for everything. lags in games.

is it the vidcard?

upgrading to a ati 8500 128mb ddr on thursday.

think it will still have same problem?

thanks
XP3200+
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB PC3200
3 X WD 80GB SE
FX5600 256MB
SONY DRU-540A
SONY DDU-1621
ASUS 52X CDRW
XP PRO
LOGAN-MR
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 4:23 am

Postby ssamurai26 » Mon Feb 24, 2003 9:56 pm

Lags in what games?
Do a speed test of your cable uplink at peak and off peak hours, you might be surprised. Sometimes cable companies will put a serious cap on your upload speed during peak usage, which can hurt your online gaming performance.

Try here:

http://www.dslreports.com/tweaks

or here

http://www.testmyspeed.com/
"He o hitte shiri tsubome" - (There is no use scrunching up your buttocks after a fart)

Abit KN9 Ultra
AMD X2 3800
Corsair DDR2 2X2GB
HIS Radeon 4670 1GB
Intel SSD
150GB Raptor
1TB WD Green X3

(hooked up to new 100M FTTH line)
ssamurai26
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 7:18 pm
Location: Japan

Postby charibdis » Tue Feb 25, 2003 5:01 am

More info on the games you're playing would help alot. also what settings are you setting in the games (not necessary to list everything, just if you're going full detail or medium detail.)

To see if it's the video card I'd try lowering the video settings to the minimum. if the problem persists then it's not the video. (that should be a decent card however if you go with the 8500 you will not be disappointed)

If you've got chat software (AIM, ICQ, MSN, Other) or a firewall/anti-virus enabled, try disabling those. (those can cause all sorts of problems sometimes)

you may also want to check game web sites. They often have forums. There may be a problem with the game itself. You say you have the latest drivers for everything, do you have the latest patches for all the games as well. (I know you probably do but no harm in checking)

Here's a funny little fact for you. I often play Diablo2 with friends online. they use dial-up connections and I'm on cable. I often get lag when they don't. I even lose my connection to battle.net and they can keep playing as though nothing was. Sometimes I wonder about those large broadband ISP's if they're not so worried for their hides that they don't go on a money grabbing scheme.
ABIT NF7-S | Athlon 2500XP @ 12x200 | Corsair HydroCool200 | 3DMark2K1 V330 = 15722 ~ 3DMark03 V340 = 4988
-----------
2nd pc: Dual PII 350 running Fedora Core 2
-----------
3rd pc: Dual Intel PPro 200MHz (Linux) ->decomissioned due to heat problems
charibdis
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:36 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Postby LOGAN-MR » Tue Feb 25, 2003 7:17 pm

this is actually for a friend..
his connection is good.
games played are Americas Army and Generals
XP3200+
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB PC3200
3 X WD 80GB SE
FX5600 256MB
SONY DRU-540A
SONY DDU-1621
ASUS 52X CDRW
XP PRO
LOGAN-MR
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 4:23 am

Postby LOGAN-MR » Tue Feb 25, 2003 7:21 pm

also the lagg is in single player too
XP3200+
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB PC3200
3 X WD 80GB SE
FX5600 256MB
SONY DRU-540A
SONY DDU-1621
ASUS 52X CDRW
XP PRO
LOGAN-MR
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 4:23 am

Postby ssamurai26 » Tue Feb 25, 2003 8:45 pm

Well, there's definitely something wrong somewhere.
I play America's Army on my PIII 700 512mb laptop, and it lags a little.
Compared to that, your friends system should smoke!
Especially in single player.

A little more detail though please. If it's single player also, it could be a number of problems.

What OS, video modes, etc., etc.
"He o hitte shiri tsubome" - (There is no use scrunching up your buttocks after a fart)

Abit KN9 Ultra
AMD X2 3800
Corsair DDR2 2X2GB
HIS Radeon 4670 1GB
Intel SSD
150GB Raptor
1TB WD Green X3

(hooked up to new 100M FTTH line)
ssamurai26
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 7:18 pm
Location: Japan

Postby charibdis » Wed Feb 26, 2003 2:58 am

Any known issues with those games and Win XP

(I assume he's running XP or possibly 2K)

If so there's compatibility mode.

I had serious problems with rogue spear, needed to be set to 98 compatibility mode to run properly. (1 keystroke in game seemed like you kept your finger on the key)
ABIT NF7-S | Athlon 2500XP @ 12x200 | Corsair HydroCool200 | 3DMark2K1 V330 = 15722 ~ 3DMark03 V340 = 4988
-----------
2nd pc: Dual PII 350 running Fedora Core 2
-----------
3rd pc: Dual Intel PPro 200MHz (Linux) ->decomissioned due to heat problems
charibdis
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:36 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Postby LOGAN-MR » Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:02 pm

ok he just told me he had a faulty mouse.

he's got a new one and all is fine.

lol a simple undetected problem had him pissed off for days
XP3200+
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB PC3200
3 X WD 80GB SE
FX5600 256MB
SONY DRU-540A
SONY DDU-1621
ASUS 52X CDRW
XP PRO
LOGAN-MR
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 4:23 am


Return to Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron