GTA IV on Windows10

Like to play games? This is the place to talk about it.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Post Reply
BIGMAN131307
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2361
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Capital District Area, NY

GTA IV on Windows10

Post by BIGMAN131307 »

Does anyone have GTA IV installed and working on Windows 10?

How did you get it installed and running properly?
Are you using Rockstar Social Club or Games for Windows settings?

:roll: This game is giving me a headache trying to figure it out.

What are the steps to get this running?
Last edited by BIGMAN131307 on Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 17191
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Re: GTA IV on Windows10

Post by Mr T »

Have you tried installing/running it in windows 7 compatibilty mode?
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
BIGMAN131307
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2361
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Capital District Area, NY

Re: GTA IV on Windows10

Post by BIGMAN131307 »

I've tried various ways to install it.

Running it in windows 7 compatibilty mode is Greek to me. :(

I've only been using Windows 10 for a week, and still trying to figure it out.

I keep reading about Games for Windows & Rockstar Social Club problems. All the "fixes" I find, have me going in circles. :(


**********************************************************

Looks like I finally got it to work, so far. :) GamesforWindows liveupdate, patching, and luck got it to work.
Image
User avatar
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 20868
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: GTA IV on Windows10

Post by Karlsweldt »

A lot of programs that worked well in Win 7 or Win 8 have problems with Win 10. Win 10 is a different anomaly than earlier versions. Some programs that worked well in Win XP may also work in Win 10 compatibility mode.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... compatible
https://www.windows10forums.com/article ... ty-mode.7/
[email protected] to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
BIGMAN131307
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2361
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Capital District Area, NY

Re: GTA IV on Windows10

Post by BIGMAN131307 »

I went from XP to Win10. My only experience with Vista is sparsely on my laptop. That's only using it for internet & VLC.

When did PC gaming become such a PITA? lol
Image
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2760
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Re: GTA IV on Windows10

Post by Roach412 »

So far I haven't had a single problem with Win10 games. I use Steam or Origin though, so no standalone installations anymore(or at least not yet, I've got too many games to still get through before moving onto my old physical collection).

To be honest though, it is more of a problem by the game developers than Windows. With the compatibility capabilities developers have available to them, they have multiple ways to use system resources. What tends to happen is they are using custom methods and classes to interact with the OS which may reduce or simplify their development time, but is not really appropriate.

In Rockstars case, they're attempting to do multiple things with their "Social Club", and my guess is that it's poorly designed, and even worse in its implementation. Anything DRM related tends to break things anyways.

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
User avatar
derylle
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: GTA IV on Windows10

Post by derylle »

Roach412 wrote:So far I haven't had a single problem with Win10 games. I use Steam or Origin though, so no standalone installations anymore(or at least not yet, I've got too many games to still get through before moving onto my old physical collection).

To be honest though, it is more of a problem by the game developers than Windows. With the compatibility capabilities developers have available to them, they have multiple ways to use system resources. What tends to happen is they are using custom methods and classes to interact with the OS which may reduce or simplify their development time, but is not really appropriate.

In Rockstars case, they're attempting to do multiple things with their "Social Club", and my guess is that it's poorly designed, and even worse in its implementation. Anything DRM related tends to break things anyways.

-Roach
My brother has the BEST HACKED free version you can find on tore rent Down road. See what I did there? But the game freezes at the end of *Blitz Mission. It froze on windows 7, 8 and 10.0 He kept waiting for fix hack but never finished the game.
Seeding 24/7 with an Argol slot, leech from the best seed to the rest
User avatar
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 20868
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: GTA IV on Windows10

Post by Karlsweldt »

Welcome back to the Forum, derylle.
But please remember, "hacking" and unlawful forms of data/file sharing are not condoned here. Your note of 'tore rent Down' is just under the censor's radar.
[email protected] to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Post Reply