The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:35 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:17 pm
Posts: 6
I'm not sure if anyone is familiar with this game but apparently several issues have been identified along in this game, namely:
usb connection lag with logitech gaming mouse (drops fps)
large pc resource consumption

I'm trying to eliminate the ping issue and make sure that my hardware is good enough to run the above game to get maximum performance i could get with minimum graphic/pc settings. My pc setup below:

mobo: a8rmvp32 deluxe
cpu: 4200+ 64x2 amd
hd: IDE connection
mouse: G9 logitech - usb connection
keyboard: ps2 keyboard cheap
gfx: 8800GT galaxy
memory: 2.5GB

Does the above setup has any instability in running such games like Fear combat?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 3:01 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 2:48 pm
Posts: 2079
Location: Harney, MD
Here are the minmum requirements listed on their site.

Quote:
OS requirements for F.E.A.R. Combat:

* OS: Win2000/XP

Minimum requirements:

* Processor: 1,7 GHz
* Memory: 512 MB
* Video: 64 MB
* Free space: 5,0 GB
* Screen resolution: 640x480
* DirectX 9.0c

Recommended requirements:

* Processor: 3,0 GHz
* Memory: 1,0 GB
* Video: 256 MB
* Free space: 5,0 GB
* Screen resolution: 1024x768


http://f-e-a-r-combat.en.softonic.com/

_________________
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Benjamin Franklin (1706 - 1790)

"A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have."
Gerald Ford (1913 - 2006)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:37 pm 
Offline
BANNED!

Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:49 pm
Posts: 1239
Location: Peoria, AZ, USA
That setup is overkill for fear. You'll run it with ease.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:13 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
What OS platform is in use.. 32-bit only, or 64-bit only, or a mid-ground compatible type? If on a 64-bit only platform, you will have problems with 32-bit only programming.

Check the Control Panel/System icon for Hardware/Device Manager. Ensure that all devices are "clean", with no warning marks. Any warning marks found, there may be a conflict or driver problem.
Also update your DirectX program to the latest for your OS type. Check also for the latest non-Beta video drivers.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:08 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:18 pm
Posts: 2098
Location: West Midlands UK
Ge FOrce 543 wrote:
That setup is overkill for fear. You'll run it with ease.


Agree there....mind you it will run with high framerates, which really makes a game enjoyable...no stuttering or lag or slowdown in explosions etc...

FEAR has a built in framerate tester/pre game running test...interesting to see how you will fair....yep get everything maxed up and I bet you will still manage 50fps minimum at best!

Now i got my new video card, must give FEAR a try once again :D

_________________
"Take counsel in wine, but resolve afterwards in water."
Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:05 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:17 pm
Posts: 6
I still get graphics lag every now and then on certain maps. The fps would also drop down below 50 when it happens (this happens on Minimum settings). I'm aware there are usb and sound issue at fear but I've run through the steps that overcome these issues.

I currenty use 2x1GB dual channel memory + 500MB additional.
Should I take off the additional 500MB memory to get my PC run more stable?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:06 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:17 pm
Posts: 6
delete edit: (double posted the above accidently)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:14 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 7:18 pm
Posts: 3039
Location: Japan
wongedan wrote:
I still get graphics lag every now and then on certain maps. The fps would also drop down below 50 when it happens (this happens on Minimum settings). I'm aware there are usb and sound issue at fear but I've run through the steps that overcome these issues.

I currenty use 2x1GB dual channel memory + 500MB additional.
Should I take off the additional 500MB memory to get my PC run more stable?


Might as well try, it is probably not really helping, and might even be slowing things down.

_________________
"He o hitte shiri tsubome" - (There is no use scrunching up your buttocks after a fart)

Abit KN9 Ultra
AMD X2 3800
Corsair DDR2 2X2GB
HIS Radeon 4670 1GB
Intel SSD
150GB Raptor
1TB WD Green X3

(hooked up to new 100M FTTH line)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 1:42 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
When using dual-channel memory setups, both 'banks' must be equal in capacity and type. Removing that extra 512 Mb module should clear up the problems. Ensure the same-color slots are used for the modules, unless otherwise noted in the mobo manual.
But the anti-virus programs have a 'screen scanner' that may overdue its protective nature.. and hold back file availability until assured the files are clean.. even if having scanned them numerous times!
Set your video aperture in the BIOS to no more than 25% of total system memory. It is an integral part of on-board video setups, as they have no dedicated memory of their own. But for add-on cards, that is only a cache to keep the video stream flowing. The OS and programming need maximum memory allocations.
Disabling any instant-messenger and 'finder' programs during intensive games can also improve frame rates. The OS is semi-dedicated to that programming aspect, and must otherwise tend to other non-essential needs.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group