The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:36 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Half Life 2 problem
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 2:14 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:34 pm
Posts: 786
Location: Iamwhereiamtoday (CA)
On my gaming rig:
Vista 64-bit, 8GB DDR2 800, two 9800GTX cards NOT in SLI (I'm running multiple monitors), and an Intel Quad Core Q6600,
Whenever I launch "Half-Life 2" or "Half-Life 2:Lost Coast" the game starts loading, but never finishes loading. I have left it "loading" for over 15 minutes, and nothing happens...
There is a little blurb of text in the upper left corner, saying "64-bit mode active" but I don't see how that could be related...

"Counter-Strike: Source", "Half life 2 episodes 1-2" "Half Life 2 Deathmatch", and "Portal" all work just fine though...

any idea why just Lost Coast and HL2 wouldn't work? (They are the only games that say "64-bit mode active" though...)

_________________
People who have gone through Starfleet academy should be taught how to fix everything. Even a Roman aqueduct.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:46 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Perhaps the game wants to check for updates from the parent site ("calling home") and the Firewall is blocking it. Or there may be specific files which are not true 64-bit intents, and the OS can't load them properly. Check with the programmer source for any updates.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:47 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:59 pm
Posts: 1960
Location: Orange County, California
Are you running it through Steam (which I think you may be), or from a disk? If through Steam, make sure its updated. If it's through a disk, maybe the disk is bad? Also, has it ever worked, or is this the first time your trying it?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:37 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:34 pm
Posts: 786
Location: Iamwhereiamtoday (CA)
I'm running it via Steam, and I just downloaded it yesterday, so it should be fully updated. I have gotten the game to work before, but I re-installed Windows recently, and it hasn't worked since I re-installed. The same game works just fine on a different computer, running XP Pro 32-bit, I just don't like having to switch computers whenever I want to play a different game.

I have had HL2 for years now, and it has always worked until this point. Perhaps it's a driver problem?

I will go on ahead and bug the Valve forums...

_________________
People who have gone through Starfleet academy should be taught how to fix everything. Even a Roman aqueduct.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 12:31 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:59 pm
Posts: 1960
Location: Orange County, California
I have a feeling it might have something to do with that 32 vs 64bit difference


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:58 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
And do check with the Valve registration desk to ensure that you have an older valid registration of the game.. not a new one. The "reg.dat" file (or so named) in the program's folder should have that info.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:03 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 2:51 pm
Posts: 16
I too had the same problem. Go into your Games windows in Steam, right click on the game with the problem, go to properties. Once there, click on "Set launch options..." and type -32bit and hit OK. Now try loading your game...

Seems like HL2 isn't fully compatible with x64.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:27 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:34 pm
Posts: 786
Location: Iamwhereiamtoday (CA)
bugmenot.com wrote:
I too had the same problem. Go into your Games windows in Steam, right click on the game with the problem, go to properties. Once there, click on "Set launch options..." and type -32bit and hit OK. Now try loading your game...

Seems like HL2 isn't fully compatible with x64.


Sweet, that worked, thank you for that tip ^_^

_________________
People who have gone through Starfleet academy should be taught how to fix everything. Even a Roman aqueduct.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:43 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 10:24 pm
Posts: 1
I started playing Half life 2:episode 2 and the game has been running perfectly fine until I get to one certain point. Every time I pass this one area my computer freezes and i get an error msg saying 0x10798f3f referenced memory at 0x0e41f3c0. Memory could not be "read." Any ideas of how to fix this because I can't get past this one point and im about to have an aneurysm.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:34 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
memtest86 i think. have seen this with bad memory sticks.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group