The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:08 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 2:47 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:40 pm
Posts: 3529
Location: U.K.
I downloaded the demo for this game to "try before you buy", Loved it, game ran without a hitch, completed the demo and thought I should buy the game,Purchased a used copy off Amazon for £15, and loaded it up, First problem came when there was no install code anywhere on the box or in/on the manual,after checking the variuose websites and other links,we eventualy got an entry code, Then after this you need to register your copy of the game before it will let you play,( says you don't need to register to activate and no personal information will be collected, yet I was unable to activate without first registering)
Eventualy we got the game up and running, but the game crashed on several occasions with a blue screen Page_fault_irq_not_equal or something like that, So I done a memory check, Came back to a memory fault so I removed 1 gig(2X512MB) and the game was started up, however on startup it we could not run and a message on the screen says this game has been loaded into to many different machines and will need to be re-activated.
This is DRM at it's worst.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 6:13 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
True about "used" gaming programs.. or any others. Once registered with that unique COA string, it is not acceptable for any other install.. unless the registration process for the previous use has been deleted.
There is a big market for "used" game programming.. but if it entails registration of the product for use again, there may be a large can of "dead fish" found.
Perhaps there should be added an "unregister product" process? But how many users would adhere to that process before passing on unwanted software?

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:44 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:40 pm
Posts: 3529
Location: U.K.
Karl, the problem is not that it is a used copy of the game, the game will only run if the disc is in the drive.
The problem is that after re-registering and then getting the activation code the whole thing has to be gone through once again because I reduced the amount of installed memory, As I said DRM in a bad light.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 6:51 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:59 pm
Posts: 1960
Location: Orange County, California
You don't necessarily need the CD to run the game btw


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:33 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
I have several games that require the install CD in order to play.. even though I have duly registered the game, and done the updates that should allow playing without the install CD present.
For piracy protection, the developers have some specific files that do not get copied to the hdd. The installed program would create a reference link to ensure that the OEM disk was present.
Having reduced system memory shouldn't cause problems with programming.. unless the memory quotient is below a desired level.
The only alternate route to not needing to provide the OEM disk would be having a multi-disk reader connected via a LAN or dedicated link.

See if there are any recent patches or updates that may allow playing without the presence of the install disk. There should be some "read me" files associated with those patches, that indicate their intent.
If you had been able to start the game without the install disk after registering and updating, and now it reverts to need of the install disk, then the programming file regarding that update may have been corrupted. It happened to two of my games.. I just accept the inconvenience.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:25 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2744
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
i've found nothing wrong with the game running...nor have any of my friends with it. i bought it for 25$ brand-new from best buy last week...saved over 50%.

one of my friends had a copy which said his activation code was already in-use by a different user, and would not let him play. he promptly returned the game to best buy for a replacement which worked without a reinstallation perfectly.

decent game...need to spend some more time on it.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:49 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:40 pm
Posts: 3529
Location: U.K.
The game ran fine on my rig, went 17 hours without a hitch, Now I'm without my main rig until the wife finishes the game :roll:
I don't have anything bad to say about the game just the tight restrictions caused by the DRM, If you have something that is incompatable with the game you can't swap out any components to check without the game locking you out.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group