The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 26, 2018 4:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bioshock demo crash
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 6:42 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 1214
Location: Friendswood, Texas
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: bioshock.exe
Application Version: 1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 46c2290a
Fault Module Name: bioshock.exe
Fault Module Version: 1.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 46c2290a
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0045f44f
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: ebc5
Additional Information 2: 08d4ab8e4e9a9fd4f9c1950fabae5eb1
Additional Information 3: 20e5
Additional Information 4: dec8312b55671699db378dc8e99b339c

I downloaded from steam Bioshock Demo, but when I try to start it up I get nothing but a black screen. I've tried to run it as administator and that doesn't help. The above message is from microsoft which I guess tells me something is wrong. All other steam games run just fine and no problems with any newer games including Prey and the orange box.
Any ideas?

_________________
Dell xps 410, Vista, 4 gig mem,8800gtx, e6600
68 year old gamer enjoying life

Never have children, only grandchildren. ~Gore Vidal


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 3:41 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20863
Location: 07438
Latest non-beta video drivers installed? Do you have the DX 9.0c latest fix? EAX or equivalent sound setup? If your system has at least a gig of RAM, it should work. Found some specs for Bioshock.. don't know if they apply to the demo version as well.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:07 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:03 am
Posts: 1358
Make sure you have the August revision of DX9 from M$. There's not much else to go on here but try reading this


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 6:30 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 1214
Location: Friendswood, Texas
I installed the august dx9c fix and it works fine now. ThANKS
Even thouigh I'm running dx10 I am surprised that I needed to update dx9. Also seems true to form with microsoft that my updates didn't already have it fixed. Oh and Bioshock doesn't really do much for me.
Especially when the wife called me to do tasks before I finished it and couldn't save the demo. PDT_Armataz_01_02

_________________
Dell xps 410, Vista, 4 gig mem,8800gtx, e6600
68 year old gamer enjoying life

Never have children, only grandchildren. ~Gore Vidal


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group