The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:41 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Need a new MB
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 6:37 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 347
My mates pc has completely died and I need a new MB. Problem is he cant afford to go out and replace cpu, ram vga so I need a board that will support a Duron 1200, pc133, onbord sound,vga and lan if poss. Any ideas coz i am stuck ? :?

Davvo


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 6:53 am 
Davvo I really dont think youll find anything "new". Your best chance is to look for a used motherboard in sales or auctions.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:10 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 3:06 pm
Posts: 5806
Location: Delaware
If you're ok replacing the RAM you might be able to fit the rest in a new board.. but now you're starting to inch closer to the price of a full computer build anyway... Save the case and I/O cards and build a new computer IMO ;)

_________________
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:15 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 8:07 am
Posts: 728
RAM is not that expensive. My vote would be to get this


http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDe ... 160&depa=1


and then this memory stick since the board needs DDR


http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDe ... 001&depa=1


Total comes to about: 81.18

I know he probably doesn't want to spend a whole lot of money, but then again you have to spend a tad if you're dealing with PC's. Companies are out to make a buck.

I selected the best I could for you and looked at the price as well. Hope this helps.

_________________
In process of building a new machine


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:21 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 3:06 pm
Posts: 5806
Location: Delaware
MGT has the more sensible answer of course. I get a little over-the-top when people ask me to spend their money ;)

_________________
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Need a new MB
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:24 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 8:07 am
Posts: 728
Davvo wrote:
My mates pc has completely died and I need a new MB. Problem is he cant afford to go out and replace cpu, ram vga so I need a board that will support a Duron 1200, pc133, onbord sound,vga and lan if poss. Any ideas coz i am stuck ? :?

Davvo


I tried to answer your question the best I could, but reading this again, you sure your cpu didnt die with the mobo ?

My brothers fan went out on him one day. Mobo was fine but the cpu was fried big time.

_________________
In process of building a new machine


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:43 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2002 9:07 am
Posts: 9896
Location: gold country
i had that same board(ECS "K7VTA3 V6.0") it was the worst board ive ever used. random crashes daily. ECS means Extremely Crappy Stuff.

Abit VA-10 $53
PDP 256Mb pc2700 $40

$93 with shipping included. cheapest quality solution.

_________________
Image

depression is just anger without the enthusiasm
anger is just danger without the "d"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:47 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 8:07 am
Posts: 728
Go with Cac's solution

_________________
In process of building a new machine


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:53 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 347
Just so you know, first of all the pc wouldnt boot as the bios didnt detect the hd. Then after resetting bios it booted but crashed and wouldnt reboot couldnt see hd again in bios. Put hd on my pc and was detected ok. Put back in original pc then no output to monitor and wont post, no beeps just fans and lights. Tried two good cpus and various sticks of ram still no post ????


Davvo


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 9:00 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2002 9:07 am
Posts: 9896
Location: gold country
tried another power supply?

_________________
Image

depression is just anger without the enthusiasm
anger is just danger without the "d"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group