The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 1:44 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 5:55 pm 
Oh, trust me, you are most definitely NOT dense. I still don't fully understand how dual-channel even works, but my guess would be 2x512 is the best option. Can someone please clarify for both of us how dual-channel works?


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 5:57 pm 
i think it gives more bandwith but its only like a 3 or 4% performance increase from single channel


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 6:06 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
2x512mb is best. You never want to fill up all four DIMM slots if you don't have to.

Dual channel works by creating two seperate channels to access the memory rather than one.

Treat the two pieces of memory as two different cities. In a single channel setup, you have one highway servicing both cities. In dual channel, it's upgraded to two seperate highways of the same size of the original. For the memory, it means double the possible bandwidth.

They have to be as closely matched as possible. If the internal rows and columns involved in addressing the memory are different, it won't work. The memory controller always assumes identical sticks, so if one is layed out differently, the same signals might not work quite the same for both.

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 6:31 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
Where are you getting DDR2 from? :?:

Just two matched pair of quality pieces of RAM will work.

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 6:40 pm 
Naw, you just have to have to sticks of regular DDR. Any DDR RAM will work in dual channel as long as you get two identical sticks. DDR2=BAD anyways.

Thanks for the explanation sabre. But why will 2x512 give a performance increase over 1x1gb according to your explanation? If there is only one city, you already have one highway just servicing it then, don't you?


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 6:55 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
HollowPoint69 wrote:
Thanks for the explanation sabre. But why will 2x512 give a performance increase over 1x1gb according to your explanation? If there is only one city, you already have one highway just servicing it then, don't you?


I guess the analogy has its limits.

While the memory controller is accessing a piece of info in one stick, it can also access a piece of info in the other stick. It lets it do two things at once, in effect.

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group