The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 5:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Start it up!
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 10:21 pm 
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Okay folks, here is your chance to earn some interest and get some return on you $.02, I'm looking to build my own pc, (my first) and need to get some advice as it's hard to know what to look for when it comes to the bleeding edge.

To help you out I'll give you all a bit of background so as to not A) Overpower me with your uber-geekness, B) Talk to me like I am a total newb, and C) figure out if you want to even help me out.

Technical experience: Okay I've basically ripped PC's apart and put them back together with little or no trouble. I'm a net/sys admin and while I've never actually put together a pc I'm very confident in my ability to do so. Now, I understand the concepts of mobo hardware though the intricacies of FSB speed vs. overclocking memory vs. (insert truly obsure numbers and stats here).

Desire for this pc: This is going to be my baby. I'll have other pc's to blow up and hex edit system files and generally destory. But this one is going to be my gaming/working/general use PC. Gaming is a primary use, and I'd like to spend a little more now in order to be able to keep up for the next couple of years. Beyond that I'm not into the major video/grapic editing so there's no concern there.

Okay, that said here are a few decisions I've made that will help you wonderful people help me in my choices.

1) Price range: $100~$200 USD. The 200 is a guideline, not a firm number, if ten bucks is going to get me so much more that's cool. And before more people start posting, =) That price tag is for the mobo alone.

1a) Total Price: For total price, I'm thinking in the $1 300~$1 500 range.

2) Processor: I've decided to go Intel.