A comprehensive list of motherboards for AMD Phenom 3

Not sure what to buy? Ask here for some free advice.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

A comprehensive list of motherboards for AMD Phenom 3

Postby loninappleton » Tue Nov 24, 2015 11:59 am

I'm looking for a comprehensive list to match up my AMD Phenom x3 with a (likely) used motherboard.
My current Biostar MCP6PBM 2+ only has two sata and two mem slots. I could benefit from
4 mem slots with some extra DDR2 sticks I have and require 4 SATA.

I have tried to add in a SATA riser board but ran into problems even with the provided Startech
drivers. Plus I think the Ol' Biostar is failing at board level.

Can you say briefly what the differences and incompatibilities are with Am2+ and AM3? Pin count or something drastic like that.
loninappleton
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 12:33 pm

Re: A comprehensive list of motherboards for AMD Phenom 3

Postby evasive » Tue Nov 24, 2015 1:59 pm

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Socket_AM3

The sole principal change from AM2+ to AM3 is support for DDR3 SDRAM.
i.e. CPU support: identical.

You can use an AM3 board for your Phenom X3 but not your memory sticks.

Our favourite reseller has only one AMD board with DDR2 support and it is a bit of a Frankenstein too:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductLi ... 0600480012

So, yeah, you're limited to used stuff if you want to recycle your memory. If not, get any AM3 board, just check for Phenom X3 support. If a half-decent brand, they will list the CPU's supported.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37454
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: A comprehensive list of motherboards for AMD Phenom 3

Postby loninappleton » Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:35 pm

I have some ddr3 in an MSI board and can swap one stick of that around.
So a Gigabyte board such as the GIGABYTE GA-78LMT-USB3 which has the adequate
SATAs and such will run my Phenom-- wait I'll get the exact model from CPU ID:

HD-8450ODJ3BGH 2100Mh 95watt

Well without taking it out that's as close as I can get from a list I have

Therefore the pin count is the same-- 240 IIRC?

To keep this rig going I'm looking for a low end replacement board. The Egg has that
Gygabyte and it should get remaindered soon. And yes, The Egg deserves kudos.
loninappleton
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 12:33 pm

Re: A comprehensive list of motherboards for AMD Phenom 3

Postby evasive » Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:26 pm

http://www.gigabyte.com/support-downloa ... x?pid=4305

hang on, I just see Phenom II support, not Phenom support on that one. let me check...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37454
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: A comprehensive list of motherboards for AMD Phenom 3

Postby evasive » Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:30 pm

65nm technology, the Gigabyte board selected seems to only support 45 and 32.
http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K10/AMD-P ... OX%29.html

hmmm so "fully backwards compatible" seems to have a limit
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37454
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: A comprehensive list of motherboards for AMD Phenom 3

Postby evasive » Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:52 pm

Argh! Ok so it is not the socket that determines if you can run it in a newer board but the internal memory controller on the CPU itself. Which in your case is only suitable for DDR2 memory...
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AMD_Phenom

So you still need to find a DDR2 board, sorry...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37454
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: A comprehensive list of motherboards for AMD Phenom 3

Postby loninappleton » Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:24 pm

Just one other thing.

How about the other way around-- Phenom I (plain) with DDR3 mem in that Goga board (which I can 'stretch' by using one stick apiece on my two setups until I see the right DDR3 deal?) I have time to work this out. The ol' Biostar is still going and, strangely, still gets $30.00 or so on the Bay.

I have to do some replugging each time I want to do a backup with only two SATA ports.
Maybe I'll try to get the Startech riser board for SATA going again. It seems the last time I failed
otherwise I'd continue with what I have.

Thanks for answering.
loninappleton
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 12:33 pm

Re: A comprehensive list of motherboards for AMD Phenom 3

Postby Karlsweldt » Sat Nov 28, 2015 7:24 am

If that other SATA drive is not used frequently, then a USB to SATA may be an idea.
Best would be an external case with its own power source.
New Egg has some examples..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6812232002
http://www.newegg.com/Hard-Drive-Enclos ... gory/ID-92
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20836
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: A comprehensive list of motherboards for AMD Phenom 3

Postby loninappleton » Sat Nov 28, 2015 1:12 pm

I checked my Startech riser card and that is a dud under Win7 x64: no discovery by Win7 it just hangs so that is dead wood in my PCI slot after the upgrade to Win7. There is a PCIExpress slot on the Biostar

As to this pigtail attachment you show, has anyone actually used one? Would there be a similar discovery problem? My old board does have a couple USB2. I still have USB1 devices on it: wireless mouse and an unique Yamaha receiver called the RP U100.
loninappleton
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 12:33 pm

Re: A comprehensive list of motherboards for AMD Phenom 3

Postby Karlsweldt » Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:49 pm

Have you checked with Startech for drivers for Win 7? Possible it is not yet "too old" to be accepted. Sometimes, a driver needs to be installed first, then the device.. for Windows to find it. But any device card or program more than 10 years old may have been relegated to the scrap pile by Windows.. "not compatible".
Those USB external drive cases are very handy. But the USB port only provides +5 volts at about 1/2 amp, so a 2.5" laptop drive should work properly. But the 3.5" standard drives require a +12 volt and a +5 volt supply.. which the USB port is not capable of providing, so the need for a self-powered case. They do work well, and should have no problems with being detected by Windows.
The USB standard rules state that newer USB standard ports and devices be backward compatible to older USB standards. But not forward compatible. Some newer devices may not be detected on older USB standard ports.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20836
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Next

Return to Recommendations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest