Old, new build

Not sure what to buy? Ask here for some free advice.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Old, new build

Postby jronald » Sun Apr 05, 2015 10:42 am

Been away for a long time, but it is good to see some of the old ones still haunting the board.
Been here http://forum.thinkpads.com/

I need a desktop board for a system that is used perhaps 10 hours a week. Currently Im running 7 on a AthlonXP 3.0 cpu with 2 gigs of memory, and as long as i do one thing at a time it is tolerable. Would probably prefer an OEM board that was originally 7, for reasons Ill not go into at this time.

Ideal:
ATX, dont really care Mico, Full or Mini
Prefer both SATA and IDE, although I have cards to go either way
Onboard Graphics and sound is fine, although I have a nice AGP video card
Im partial to AMD although Core2Duo's have good bang for the buck

Im running an A7V8V-LA currently. My needs are far from extreme so my budget is far from huge.
Anyone have any suggestions?
Ron
My son carries in his childhood, the wonders I have sought my lifetime to find, and squandered fortunes to posses
jronald
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:29 pm
Location: 36n24, 78w59 - Carolina

Re: Old, new build

Postby Karlsweldt » Sun Apr 05, 2015 4:31 pm

Here is a link for the CPU compatibility for that Asus board..
http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-ASUS/A7V8X.html#cs
Noted with some Athlon XP models, they would be compatible only if there is a "FSB333" sticker on the South bridge chip.
The Athlon XP 3000 is one of those.
If using the on-board graphics, set the video aperture for no more than 25% of total system memory. Best would be a dedicated video card. Otherwise, the CPU does double duty with disseminating data and rendering video.
How many "background" programs are running needlessly? Try to run as few as possible, only the required programs.
Check with the Task Manager, should be less than 50 processes active normally. More than that, and the system is border line for performance.
One active firewall program is all you need. Two will buck each other for priority.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20764
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Old, new build

Postby jronald » Sun Apr 05, 2015 4:54 pm

I have already killed everything I can, the issue is the system versus 7. It runs better than I thought, but still maxes the CPU most/all of the times. So Im looking to upgrade. Sort of looking at Athlon II, but cheap ATX boards are rare. Thought I found one for $20.00 on fleabay, but it was a BTX.


Ron
My son carries in his childhood, the wonders I have sought my lifetime to find, and squandered fortunes to posses
jronald
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:29 pm
Location: 36n24, 78w59 - Carolina

Re: Old, new build

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:18 am

Check the Administrative Tools, Event Log. Look for warnings or flags that may indicate a driver or process fault or conflict.
Have you tried using the video card, and disabling the on-board video?
With on-board video, a dedicated amount of memory at the top is reserved for video needs. This can restrict the OS needs for programming memory needs. What about memory timings? Premium grade memory is more tolerant of paging errors than "value" or "common" memory.
What about the latest drivers for that Asus board? Win 7 does require some advanced driver features over XP or Vista. AHCI is one critical faction.
May be some "optional" files at the MS Update site that could improve matters.
CPU-Z is a decent diagnostics program that is free from http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html and can show basic system factors such as FSB, memory timings and other info.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20764
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Old, new build

Postby jronald » Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:05 pm

I pretty much have everything optimized that I can. The AthlonXP is getting very long in the tooth. Thats why Im looking for something more modern. Suggestions?

Ron
My son carries in his childhood, the wonders I have sought my lifetime to find, and squandered fortunes to posses
jronald
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:29 pm
Location: 36n24, 78w59 - Carolina

Re: Old, new build

Postby evasive » Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:24 am

Is that a HP/Compaq machine?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37436
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Old, new build

Postby jronald » Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:51 pm

Started off Compaq, after a BIOS flash it now says HP.

Ron
My son carries in his childhood, the wonders I have sought my lifetime to find, and squandered fortunes to posses
jronald
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:29 pm
Location: 36n24, 78w59 - Carolina

Re: Old, new build

Postby Karlsweldt » Tue Apr 07, 2015 4:47 pm

HP bought out several companies. The Digital line, Compaq line, Apollo and Convex computers are some, including 3Com.
Did you check as to what FSB speed is used? If not as required, the system will not be optimal. Memory must also match the FSB speed. If slower, that can backlog data flow with slower paging speed.
That CPU does have some decent ratings.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20764
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Old, new build

Postby evasive » Tue Apr 07, 2015 11:20 pm

So we are dealing with the Kelut motherboard.
http://www.ctechinfo.net/motherboards/asus/kelut.php

Wow, that is Socket A! :o
VIA chipset so under any circumstances we are looking at a full install of windows, no upgrading possible.
DDR memory cannot be recycled.
AGP is really not happening anymore. If you buy an AMD board you can use an APU, that might give you decent graphics.

What we still need is the make/model/wattage of your power supply, and some indication of your budget so we can go bargain hunting...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37436
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Old, new build

Postby jronald » Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:13 am

Not a clue what the name on the power supply is but I have had 6 HIS the video card and the mobo. Running off of it for over a year with no issues. I would like to stay under 50 all in and recycle what I can. As I said I use it about 10 hours a week. It is upstairs and gets used for a few minutes of news and significant store of crap. Far from cutting edge.

Thks
Ron
My son carries in his childhood, the wonders I have sought my lifetime to find, and squandered fortunes to posses
jronald
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:29 pm
Location: 36n24, 78w59 - Carolina

Next

Return to Recommendations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest