The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:15 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:11 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 2:30 pm
Posts: 162
Location: Texas
So I'd like to reward myself with a graphics card upgrade, and I am hoping yall can steer me in the right direction.

My dream machine from 2009 currently has:

Asus P6T Deluxe Mobo (1st gen i7 mobo)
i7 920
6GB ram
750W PSU
2x GTX 275 in SLI

What's a smart choice in terms of graphics card upgrade options? Any bottlenecking issues with the new nvidia cards and my mobo?

Thanks!

_________________
MSI K8t Neo Fis2r


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:59 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17134
Location: England
I would get a single 660 or a more expensive 660Ti... All your stuff is fine...

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:57 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2740
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
over the course of a little over a year i've gone from a 560, to a 560ti, to two 560ti's and now to a 660ti - just grab a 660ti and be happy.

you could keep one of those 275s and use it for offloading physx as well. just a thought. i have a 280 i'm considering doing that with (or if i can't sell either of my 560ti's use one of those).

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:48 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 2:30 pm
Posts: 162
Location: Texas
Oh, wow. I was pleasantly surprised the 600 series take up less power than the 200 series!

Thanks, Mr.T! Btw, Roach, I had no idea you could do that. I found this from the nvidia site.
Quote:

A new configuration that’s now possible with PhysX is 2 non-matched (heterogeneous) GPUs. In this configuration, one GPU renders graphics (typically the more powerful GPU) while the second GPU is completely dedicated to PhysX. By offloading PhysX to a dedicated GPU, users will experience smoother gaming.



So no SLI bridge needed? Just plug and go?

_________________
MSI K8t Neo Fis2r


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 1:10 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2740
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
yep. it's a pretty nice setup. you can just grab whatever nvidia card you can find, and drop it in - in the nvidia control panel you then just select which GPU you want to offload the physx to (it'll be set to CPU by default i believe).

no sli bridge required. what i've been doing with my two cards is switching back and forth for things that can use SLI better or not. so, they have the bridge on them, but i can disable SLI in the console - then put the 2nd card as a physx processor. then i'm running in a single-GPU setup, with physx...or go to the console and select to have both cards running in SLI, with the physx going to the CPU.

some games do not like alt-tabbing out and crash when i'm in SLI...so, i disable it for those and just use the single-GPU setup. when i won't be tabbing out, i set it to SLI and get more fps.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group