Lookin 4 a good gaming Graphics Card

Not sure what to buy? Ask here for some free advice.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

sbrehm72255
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:40 am

Post by sbrehm72255 »

If you plan on sticking to your budget, pretty much anyone one of the HD 3850 will do the trick for you.........They have about the bang for your buck in their price class right now. To bd the 256mb 8800GT are so much higher priced, it would have been a better pick.
paintball4pros4
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:05 pm

Post by paintball4pros4 »

kk thx

im using a 19 inch widescreen monitor and if im right it probally will work...

kk thx
The Dom
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 12:01 am
Location: Friendswood, Texas

Post by The Dom »

Check the size of the card you decide on to be sure it will fit. Some of the 8000 series are quite long.
Dell xps 410, Vista, 4 gig mem,8800gtx, e6600
68 year old gamer enjoying life

Never have children, only grandchildren. ~Gore Vidal
paintball4pros4
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:05 pm

Post by paintball4pros4 »

lol kk I guess I got an idea on what i should get
sbrehm72255
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:40 am

Post by sbrehm72255 »

The 8800GT are about as long as a standard ATX MoBo is deep and I believe the ATi HD 3800 series are about the same size. About the only ones I know that have extreme size issues are the 8800GTX versions, they are super long.

This is a shot of a 8800GT installed, it comes almost to the outside edge of the board.

Image
paintball4pros4
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:05 pm

Post by paintball4pros4 »

I just looked at it, it would probally fit if I move some wires around but im not gonna take any chances.

Also btw do those tubes in that pic hold the wires?

idk now that I know more about cpu's im gonna build my next one because some of them I saw on this site are just 2 sick...
Ge FOrce 543
BANNED!
Posts: 1239
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:49 pm
Location: Peoria, AZ, USA

Post by Ge FOrce 543 »

paintball4pros4 wrote:I just looked at it, it would probally fit if I move some wires around but im not gonna take any chances.

Also btw do those tubes in that pic hold the wires?

idk now that I know more about cpu's im gonna build my next one because some of them I saw on this site are just 2 sick...
No those arn't cables, but rather tubes that transfer liquid. I don't know much about it myself but it basically cools his PC with water. I am sure he would love to give you a short lesson on how it works.
sbrehm72255
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:40 am

Post by sbrehm72255 »

Water cooling, cools great to help get those top OC's at low noise levels, but it ain't cheap and can be dangerous if you're not careful............. 8)

It's best left to another thread, to much to go into on this thread.
Post Reply