The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:37 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Hard Drive Cloning
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:13 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 11:59 am
Posts: 312
I am looking for a way to create a clone of my existing hard drive in the event that I want to do a re-image
i have several concerns:

1 - If I replace hardware on my existing machine such as hard drive, etc...........and then re-image using the clone file.............will it create difficulties with Microsoft registration?
2 - If I install a new hard drive............install a cloned image from the old hard drive.............will the software adjust to that hardware change?

I am just looking for an easy way to have a clean re installation if I fell it necessary. Cloning was the only method that I can think of. Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

_________________
Antec 900 - 650W ATX
Intel DQ35JOE
Intel Core 2 DUO Q6600 Quad Core 4gb
PC2-6400 DDR2-SDRAM UDIMM - 2x4 GB (Clocking 800mhz)
Primary: SATA 3gb/s - Hitachi HDP725050GLA360(500 gb)
External-USB: SATA 3gb/s - WDC-WD7500AACS-00ZJB0 (750 gb)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 - PCIe v1.1 x16 (2.5 Gb/s) @ x16 (2.5 Gb/s)
Microsoft Windows 7 Home - SP-1
BIOS: JOQ3510J.86A.1143.2010.1209.0048 - 12/09/2010


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hard Drive Cloning
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 1:24 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17144
Location: England
Best clean installation is to install from scratch - from experience, it is a pain, but has far less headaches than a clone that goes wrong.
With windows, always, always have a small drive for windows - 240Gb minimum which will run windows, allow it to update and leave room for loads of programs. Store everything elsewhere on a separate hard drive.

I have Steam, Nero, Office, Libre Office, GIMP, multiple browsers and various other programs running from my SSD. Photo's, video, downloads are stored separately on 3 internal hard drives, 4 external hard drives and two NAS servers for back up. Lost too much in the past.

To answer your questions, if you want to replace the hard drive windows 10 is OK. I downgraded from 1Tb to the 240Gb SSD, but clean installed (cloning wont work moving from a large drive to a smaller drive). I signed into my M$ account and all activated, updated etc. Then just reinstalled the software. Keep a note of key codes. Logged into Google and all my bookmarks updated.

New hardware, mainly motherboard is a different experience. If you re-image windows to a new motherboard that has different chipsets, it usually fails. It sometimes fails on graphics cards, but motherboard is key. If it re-images ok and then you may have an issue with activation and have to contact M$ who usually sort things out.

All above is for windows 10. Windows 7 and below is even worse, so I have stopped using them totally (awful, awful things).

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group