The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 5:06 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 1:01 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2001 11:00 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Ft Campbell, KY
:?: I am currently using Windows ME and have recently purchased a licensed copy of Windows 2000 pro from a disgruntled friend who said he didn't like the way it worked. I gave him $20 for it so I think I got a good deal. Anyway, I am under the impression that I'll have to purge my drives because of the NTFS not being compatable with the 32 bit file storage method used by previous windows editions. Is this true? It would be a real bummer to loose the many hours of program reloading time and downloading to get the latest IE ver6.1 downloads and security protocalls, etc, etc. I can back up my system to CD roms, but will backup disks created with ME work under 2000 when restoring the system. Plus the whole system of setting up "administrator" protocalls is more than a little intimidating. I would be grateful for any tips, hints, guidance or mentoring anyone would care to provide. Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 6:27 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
You cannot upgrade from Me to Windows 2000. As far as being able to back up your programs to disk or CD's might be possible but I cannot garentee it....

To get from Me to Windows 2000 you will have to format the drive and do a "clean install" of the Windows 2000. Or invest in a program like partition magic and create a dual boot system.

Toby

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:52 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17135
Location: England
Easiset way to do it would be to dual boot with me and 2000. Create a partition using partition magic v7 and install 2000 to that and then you have the choice.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:07 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
While partitioning is definitely an option, you will still have to re-install onto the 2K partition anything that you want to run while in 2K.

Here's a link that I think will give you a head start on installing 2K:
http://content.techweb.com/winmag/windows/guides/win2000/default.htm

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:24 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
[adding to what mr t suggested]

win2kpro will work on fat32 (same as winme). perform a derfrag/ speed disk first, then add partition and resize winme down to about 4gig, then load win2kpro to the second partition (prob d drive- letter after winme partition)- you'll want to be certain to specify the newly created partition, as you'll have the option to agree w/ c drive, or other (what you want)- rest should be set up by the os- i'd also recommend actually adding 1 or 2 more partitions for data storage, and resize/ specify win2kpro target partition as 4 gig (or so +/-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group