The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 1:42 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2002 12:06 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 9:19 am
Posts: 324
Location: Honduras
Today I noticed my PC was slow. I opened the task manager and CPU usage was at 100%. The process that uses about 97% of the CPU is called "system" and the owner is the user "system". I tried restarting the PC but the problem persists.
I also tried running Norton Antivirus and Ad-aware to check for virus and spyware, but nothing was found.
I have Windows XP all the updates available from the Microsoft webpage.
Any clues to solve this problem?

_________________
It's not important to know all the answers, as long as you know how to contact someone who does.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2002 1:49 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Alot of the time this is a result of a bad driver.
I have seen this for instance when people have installed Sound blaster cards and the drivers they use cause this.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2002 2:05 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 9:19 am
Posts: 324
Location: Honduras
I haven't installed any new drivers. The only thing I've installed this week is a kids game for my 3 year old son. I'll try uninstalling it to see if this game is causing the problem.

_________________
It's not important to know all the answers, as long as you know how to contact someone who does.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 3:43 am 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 454
Location: Atlanta, GA
I have seen this on systems with communications software installed that will poll the serial ports (or others) to determine if there is any incoming data.

It actually isn't a 100% load, but looks like it on a meter...because the activity is every few cycles.

_________________
reader
_ _ _____ _ _
"There we were, lost in the Wilds of Afghanistan without a corkscrew. Forced to live for days on nothing but food and water."

W.C. Fields


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group