win98 startup

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

win98 startup

Postby rcg251 » Tue Sep 10, 2002 8:41 am

75 Mhz
Bios (Award 4.01)
Had win95
Had Old MS
Had 1.1 gig

Now is still 75mhz
Bios(Award 4.01)
Want to install win98
Installed MS 6.01
Installed 2.1 gig

Done:
Formatted the harddrive with win98 startup disk (expanded single partition)
Changed the Bios to accept the change----it did

Problem:
When I choose the "with CD rom " Option it goes through the whole cycle and at the end it reads "invalid command.com" missing interperter....

What to do?


:cry:
rcg251
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2001 12:00 am

Postby len444 » Tue Sep 10, 2002 10:11 am

i'd try a different win98 startup/boot disk:

http://www.bootdisk.com
should format the floppy disk before adding any files to it, or use a new disk- make more than one boot disk so that you can switch disks- might make a difference.

how much memory installed in the system? some might recommend win98lite for your system.
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Tue Sep 10, 2002 11:13 am

When you follow that link, goto
DOS 5 - XP Most Excellent Bootdisks Via Mirrors.Org


The rest of them aren't useful for what your looking to do.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby len444 » Wed Sep 11, 2002 3:53 pm

hardware junkie, your bootdisk.com referenced link isn't working. i tried the bootdisks at the bottom of the worm page, which wasn't the desired boot disk, dr d's references a site that is free ware, yet it'll cost $20/12 mo.
wondering about the win98se.exe, and other files listed at the bottom of worm's page- more like a recovery type disk to get back into an os?
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Re: win98 startup

Postby Zero » Wed Sep 11, 2002 10:44 pm

rcg251 wrote:75 Mhz
Bios (Award 4.01)
Had win95
Had Old MS
Had 1.1 gig

Now is still 75mhz
Bios(Award 4.01)
Want to install win98
Installed MS 6.01
Installed 2.1 gig

Done:
Formatted the harddrive with win98 startup disk (expanded single partition)
Changed the Bios to accept the change----it did

Problem:
When I choose the "with CD rom " Option it goes through the whole cycle and at the end it reads "invalid command.com" missing interperter....

What to do?


:cry:

with that comp do u really want to fix it??? is it worth the trouble???
ya i know i suck at typing
Zero
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 6:44 pm
Location: vancouver bc canada

Postby len444 » Fri Sep 13, 2002 9:21 am

consider 98lite for your 75mhz pentium system:
http://www.litepc.com/index.html

have you obtained a new copy of the start up disk that is available in the add/ remove programs folder in control panel (upper tab select start up disk-install to a freshly formatted floppy disk)- get from friends, local comp store, online (sources that work).

:?: :!: :?: have you fixed the problem, and how so- we'd like to know!

:!: hj, your referenced link is working now!
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri Sep 13, 2002 11:54 am

http://www.mirrors.org/archived_softwar ... iginal.htm

Yeah I don't know what happened before but its working now.

With a 75Mhz system I would seriously consider running Windows 3.11 with DOS 6.22. It will run so much better then Windows 9X.
As long as you are using a good hardware modem, you can use Trumpet or Shiva to make internet connections through the modem and use Netscape 4.08 as your browser.

But to make the computer bootable with nothing on it, when using a boot disk, do a "sys c:" and it will transffer the system files to the hard drive.
From there you can do whatever you want.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby len444 » Sun Sep 15, 2002 12:44 pm

i once did a sys c and found that it interfered w/ loading the os- went back, removed the sys c (someone's advice- fdisked and reformatted)- then the install went ok. would adding a sys c make an unbootable os then boot up? guess i'm slightly puzzled w/ the sys c file?
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sun Sep 15, 2002 12:52 pm

sys is a program that transfferes the contents of the boot files on the current drive (in this case the floppy) to the destination drive (in this case c: ) thus making it bootable.
You will have issues if you sys a drive with Windows ME boot files and then say, trying to install Windows 95. Windows installer will think you have a later version of Windows.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby len444 » Sun Sep 15, 2002 1:11 pm

was the sys c: procedure used for older os's like dos, win 3.11, ect... as a prerequisite for os install?

not sure of the specifics HWJ- i need a seperate comp to experiment w/ to verify (esp for my own knowledge). 8)
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Next

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest