The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:49 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2002 5:59 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 62
Location: Indpls
I have tried all my sticks of ram and get the same error w/different hex codes.

So I don't think it is physically the memory.

I have an ECS k7VZA rev 3. board
1ghz AMD, ATI 7500, currently the onboard sound is disable and I don't have a sound card installed while trouble shooting.

I have and adaptec 1200 card with a maxtor 30 and a maxtor 40 gig in a striped array. A 13 gig maxtor on ide 0 a 40 gig western digital (the only 5400 rpm drive) on ide 1. Each secondary channel has a DVD or cdrw on it.

I get the error when ever I try to copy a large amount of data from drive to drive. Any combination. That is the only time it crashes.

I've disconnected the CDrom and DVD and still get the error.

I am using the default drivers for all the devices that XP installs.

If it might be the board can someone recommend a good board with Raid and that will use the sdram.

I am in the process of building a new SFF system but I want to use all the above mention parts other than the raid card to have a stable file server.
But If it is going to be doing a lot or reading and writing to hard drives I can't have it crashing al lthe time.

Thanks.
Phillip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2002 2:55 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 12:00 am
Posts: 1359
Have you updated your VIA drivers? and it happens when copying from any of the drives?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2002 5:06 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 62
Location: Indpls
Now the error has gone from Non_paged.... to Bad Pool Caller.
Any Ideas.

Are there any programs that test RAM?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 12:51 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 9:09 am
Posts: 20
I had a similar problem once.
I resolved it by disabling the dram 'burst' setting on my motherboard through bios.
Hope this helps. :idea:

_________________
"How can I compare thee to a summer's day...?" (ode to motherboard)

Asus A7V333 m'board
Gainward GeForce 4 MX440
256Mb PC2700 Crucial RAM
WD Caviar SE 80Gb & Fujitsu 10Gb HD
Samsung DVD-ROM
Netgear NIC


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group