The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:18 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2002 6:32 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
suppose sometimes it's whatever works. wonder why the SB card would need irq 11, wheras the CM card would take irq 5- would this be configured by the card manufacturer?

seems that the CM card picked the correct IRQ:
http://www.webopedia.com/quick_ref/IRQnumbers.asp

i just remembered something that might work- in bios disable plug and play os, which then lets the bios handle IRQ (unless irq's are signal related to the specific cards?)- might/ might not have worked (for adding a card to the system- not changing irq while leaving a card alone).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2002 10:03 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17134
Location: England
The reason why I realised it was the MAC address was the fact after each LAN card appered a # and a number, refering to a network ie network 1,2 and so on, and I couldn't get back to number 1. There were no IRQ conflicts, everything seemed fine that end (one of the first things I thought of).Anyway thanks for all the input I'm off to play with my new RADEON 9700pro :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2002 4:15 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 211
That is kinda odd because i got 2 NIC I swap between, using same IP. I have the setup as LAN1 and LAN2 and I disable whatever I am not using. I also found that after setting shares and rebooting, it would not stick unless I disabled Norton AnitVirus, rebooted, verified the share stuck, re-enabled NAV, then rebooted again.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 5:13 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 9:50 pm
Posts: 184
hey mr. t
how's that new radeon workin???
is it worth the money?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 9:38 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17134
Location: England
That RADEON...................OOOOOOH, baby, works like a dream. I would wait though until prices start dropping (ie when nVidia release Geforce 5).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 12:12 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 9:50 pm
Posts: 184
whoo......its gonna be a while for nvidia to release gforce 5
but i'll wait...
readeon 9700 is most probably gonna be my next buy


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group