Activation for XP Pro vs XP

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby GillianTan » Sat Oct 05, 2002 1:14 pm

Finally! Someone on my side! Thanks Hardware Junkie!
My NEW 3dMark score http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4955820
Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent, and reboot. Order shall return...
GillianTan
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 1:12 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sat Oct 05, 2002 2:13 pm

I am with you on this one... :wink:
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby rg560 » Sun Oct 06, 2002 8:28 am

If that were true, then a Corp key would make Pro install as Corp. Doesn't work that way. There are a dozen or so files that are different between Corp & Pro.

There are some files that differ, and they all are related to the WPA.
But all the functional files, are the same.

Try registering a Pro version with a Corp key, it wont work.
The Cd's are different.
rg560
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:25 am

Postby jackdav » Sun Oct 06, 2002 10:23 am

So what happened to the person who had the copies of XP corp? Still got 'em? Lets deal!
________
vapir one
Last edited by jackdav on Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
jackdav
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2002 8:31 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

Postby GillianTan » Sun Oct 06, 2002 4:58 pm

rg560 wrote:If that were true, then a Corp key would make Pro install as Corp. Doesn't work that way. There are a dozen or so files that are different between Corp & Pro.

There are some files that differ, and they all are related to the WPA.
But all the functional files, are the same.

Try registering a Pro version with a Corp key, it wont work.
The Cd's are different.


Done it. Works fine.
My NEW 3dMark score http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4955820
Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent, and reboot. Order shall return...
GillianTan
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 1:12 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sun Oct 06, 2002 5:03 pm

Try registering a Pro version with a Corp key, it wont work.


Did it, Doing it, Works fine.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby rg560 » Sun Oct 06, 2002 5:24 pm

For those who are interested: the files that differ are as follows:

I386\WIN9XUPG
I386\DPCDLL.DL_
I386\EULA.TXT
I386\NT5INF.CA_
I386\OEMBIOS.BI_
I386\OEMBIOS.CA_
I386\OEMBIOS.DA_
I386\OEMBIOS.SI_
I386\PIDGEN.DLL
I386\SETUPP.INI
I386\SETUPREG.HIV

I386\WIN9XUPG\WIN95UPG.INF
rg560
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:25 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sun Oct 06, 2002 5:48 pm

Alright just to lay this to rest I am going to find a copy of the Devils0wn on the net and compare it to my Pro Disk.
I am running XP Pro with a Corp key. Have been for months.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby GillianTan » Sun Oct 06, 2002 6:30 pm

I actually purchased XP Pro and put in a corporate key. I also downloaded the Devilsown copy and used a corp key, works fine. I dont know who you are getting your info from, but they are wrong.
My NEW 3dMark score http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4955820
Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent, and reboot. Order shall return...
GillianTan
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 1:12 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sun Oct 06, 2002 6:44 pm

GillianTan: Do you still have the ISO for Devils0wn? Could you upload it to my FTP. I wanna check that out.

mobokive.dyndns.org
username and password: upload
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

PreviousNext

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest