XP Pro corp key questions

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Rick123
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 10:32 am
Location: NH, USA

XP Pro corp key questions

Post by Rick123 »

I have learned from the many posts on this forum (if I understand what I've read...) that if a corporate key is used to activate when installing a full version of XP Pro then that disk can be used again (as many times as needed) and it can be installed on more than 1 computer. Is ithis correct info?

I have read the article at the tweaktown.com site on updating XP Pro to service pack 1 (nice forum discussion here of xp pro install and update with about 40 posts that started back in sept had the link). In that article was a link to a keygen program titled "windows xp cd key changer by mr dude".

This program appears to generate random corp keys. The program says that it will allow you to change your corp key to install sp1.

Finally the question? Can the keys generated by this program also be used to activate a clean initial install of XP Pro, or due they only work for the update? It would seem to me that they would work for both purposes, but wondering if anyone familiar with this program knows for sure.

Hope this topic can help lots of people wondering about these issues...

Thanks,

Rick
Rick
NH, USA

Antec Sonata III/500w Earthwatts
Abit IP35, Intel C2D E6750, BFT90 CPU Cooler
2x1GB Crucial Balistic DDR2 800
Maxtor 300GB, Sg & Hitachi 320/160GB SATAs
PowerColor x1950pro 512mb
Samsung 20x SH-S203B SATA Burner
Rosewill RB-321 Combo Drive
XP Pro
User avatar
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Post by Hardware Junkie »

A corporate key allows you to get Windows running without contacting Microsoft like it would happen with a legit key.
You would use the same copy of Windows XP Pro on every PC, but the same corp key can be used.
If you have Windows pre-installed, you can also change your existing key over to the new one, thier by allowing you to install SP1.
procedures for this are available on the internet.
[i]"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier[/i]

[url=http://www.windowfarms.org/][img]http://homegrown.org/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/window-farm-iconic3-150x150.jpg[/img][/url]
tomnhanni
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 1:03 pm

Post by tomnhanni »

If for some reason the generated key won't work to install a clean copy. You need to use the origonal key that you first used to install. And then if you need to change your key to install the SP for some reason, the generated keys will work but only after you've installed with the first key and then change it.
________
C112
Last edited by tomnhanni on Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Falklian
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 921
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 2:06 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Post by Falklian »

I used the generated key to install with no troubles, SP1 installed perfectly as well.
Rick123
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 10:32 am
Location: NH, USA

Post by Rick123 »

Falklian,

So I understand, you used a key generated by the keygen program that appears designed to be used for an SP1 upgrade (only asking because as I stated at the beginning this is the specific keygen program I have). You used this key to do an initial full install of XP Pro, and then were able to use the same key to do the service pack 1?

Although I plan to buy an OEM version of XP Pro, I want to upgrade both our computers (GASP!!!). It appears from what I'm reading that this program generates Corp keys that will allow XP Pro to be installed as many times as needed. Am I understanding the situation?

Thanks,

Rick
Rick
NH, USA

Antec Sonata III/500w Earthwatts
Abit IP35, Intel C2D E6750, BFT90 CPU Cooler
2x1GB Crucial Balistic DDR2 800
Maxtor 300GB, Sg & Hitachi 320/160GB SATAs
PowerColor x1950pro 512mb
Samsung 20x SH-S203B SATA Burner
Rosewill RB-321 Combo Drive
XP Pro
missouri
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon May 13, 2002 10:50 pm

Post by missouri »

the pirated copy of XP corp. w/ the serial # that begins w/ FCKGW
will not take the sp1 update, so you need to change the serial to get the update...the serial key gen will give you a valid serial, maybe not on the first try! If you have this copy w/ the bad serial, install w/ the serial and change it...very easy to do! Be sure to do it before you try the update or you have trouble and will be asked to remove it immediately.
User avatar
sirpaulallen1
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 9:50 am
Location: USA

Post by sirpaulallen1 »

Rick,
Not sure if anyone realy answered your question but NO..You can not instal xp pro without it's own specific key that was written for that specific disk, so the "Pirated" copy that everyone has is the same as everyone has hence that same key that begins with fckgy or something like that. Without that very specific key you can not get past the registration and generating a key befor hand does no good because it was not written for that specific copy or disk of windows xp. Once you have your version in weather it's legal or not and it is succesfuly registered (illegal or not) then and only then can you change the key for it as it has already been activated wich is why Microsoft is able to stop the instalation of it's service pack one, it is targeted for the key code starting with fckgy, so..change the key and it has no more target. Make Sense??

Hope this helped ya...bottom line is if you have the illegal copy use it and do the procedure required to instal the service pack one.
MSI K9A2-CF v2
AMD Phenom X4 oc to 3.0
MSI 9400 GT Graphics
Crucial 6gig Mem.
tomnhanni
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 1:03 pm

Post by tomnhanni »

Umm you're not entirely correct in your assumption that only ONE specific key written for the one particular setup disk will work. If that was the case the how can you buy a license key from Microsuck and install windows XP corporate final if you already have a copy of the setup disk? The XP pro setup disk has a file on the root dir of the setup disk which tells the installation program what version of XP to install-- Home or professional. And then if you're installing pro and you use a volume license serial number, it installs XP without requiring activation. Now you're right that only specific serial keys will work. But you have to understand how they're produced. If the generated key has the correct algorithm to match a volume license serial it will install not all generated keys contain the correct code. Microsuck doesn't have a list of all the volume license serials that THEY produced to check against any generated ones. They just have a list of of well known circulated cracked keys that they check against when you try to install SP1.
For more info go here:
http://www.licenturion.com/xp/
and here:
http://www.kcsmarketing.com/bcarr/banedkey.htm
________
KTM 200XC-W
Last edited by tomnhanni on Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
sirpaulallen1
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 9:50 am
Location: USA

Post by sirpaulallen1 »

tomnhanny,
Good point, and your correct, just goes to show when you think you know something you learn something new!! :D With any luck between yor answer and mine that guy can get the answer he was looking for, if not..then I give up..hee hee hee
MSI K9A2-CF v2
AMD Phenom X4 oc to 3.0
MSI 9400 GT Graphics
Crucial 6gig Mem.
tomnhanni
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 1:03 pm

Post by tomnhanni »

I don't know everything either. But I know that if I look long enough, I'll find something for the answer.
I've never bought software for personal use in my life. :twisted:
I don't think that software should necessarily be free, but at least for the average guy affordable. My opinion is that if Microsuck really wants to limit piracy (stoping it would be impossible), the they need to make the software so cheap that it would be hardly worth your time or CD-W to copy it.
I love linux cuz it's free :D . Have you ever had someone ask you for a crack for linux? Or a cd key?
Its just a shame that hardly enyone writes programs for linux. Well, even programmers have to eat and pay for cigarettes--and occasionally take their girlfriend out to the cinema :wink:
________
herbalaire review
Last edited by tomnhanni on Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply