The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 5:26 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:01 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I'm having a problem disabling the digital signature on Win7 64 in order to have my sound card driver. I tried all the methods I found doing a search online ... the gpedit ..didn't work ... the cmd prompt with the bcdedit didn't work. When I go into the device manager I have a yellow ! and code 52 for the sound blaster live driver. The only thing that did work was the temp fix by hitting the F8 key and disable the sig enforcement ... but I have to do that each time I boot up. I don't want to have to do that each boot up. But, when I did disable it that way and everything was working properly I didn't get any sound and the speaker configuration was just for mono and stereo, I have surround sound and that option was grayed out and not listed with stereo and mono. I have a sound blaster live audio card. How can I permanently disable the digital sig and get the correct configuration for the speakers and recover my sound. I had no problem with the sound card when the computer had the XP OS :( This is rig 2.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 10:03 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17135
Location: England
Have you tries installing the driver in compatibility mode? (try Vista 64bit driver as they had to be digitally signed). From Vista onwards, generally windows put the driver in automatically - at least it worked - but didn't give you totall control over the cards functions. If that doesn't work, may be time to upgrade the card, or use the onboard sound.

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 9:07 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I think my hhd went out on me because the computer will no longer boot into windows. :twisted:

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 1:14 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Wellsir ... I ran the seatool hhd diagnostic test both short and long and it passed ... I will check the memory and see if it passes.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 4:04 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
The memory passed too. I use mini tool formatted and wiped the hhd, reinstalled windows but when it get to the restart part it still will not boot into windows. I simply don't understand why is it doing this. :roll:

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 6:46 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I guess the only other suspect is the mobo ... I sent a message to gigabyte regarding this matter, and will wait for an answer. :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:25 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20860
Location: 07438
Is the AHCI enabled in the BIOS for that hard drive? Is the hard drive the same one as used before?
Kill off all partitions, then shut down with none formed. Restart, and do a normal installation.
If the BIOS version cannot accept the full capacity of the hard drive, then partition it as needed.. two minimum.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 10:44 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
There was no AHCI listed any where in the BIOS. I swap out the mobo to the GA M86MT-S2 and got the same results when trying to reinstall windows. I can't kill off my partitions on the drive because I need the information that is on it. :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 3:28 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20860
Location: 07438
If any old system files remain on a partition, then a reinstall is likely to fail. Formatting the partition in normal mode will not delete those lingering files. Only an unconditional format would clear them.
Can understand your not wanting to 'wipe' the drive, with a lot of data that cannot be replaced. Maybe best to slave that drive in another similar system, copy over all data needed. Then you have a full backup. Now the drive can be cleansed of any partitions, and a fresh install should go easy.

Putting a hard drive with an OS on it into another system can cause the OS to go belly-up, if different features or chipsets are found. Only if both systems are 100% identical is there less chance of that.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 4:53 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I did format that partition, but its still no go ... I will have to get a new hard drive and use that one as a slave because I don't have any place to put all the data I have. :(

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group