The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:22 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 12:00 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Quote:

The default username is ubuntu, and the password is blank on an Ubuntu LiveCD.

If the username "ubuntu" with an empty password doesn't work, you may be able to add a new user to the system as follows.

Press Ctrl+Alt+F1 and run this command:

adduser username



if it isn't ubuntu, the CD was modified by the provider, and you need to ask at the place where you did the download.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 7:33 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2348
Location: Capital District Area, NY
I got the ISO from the ubuntu website. Should I try another DL?

How & where & when do I add a user? :?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 7:35 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
evasive wrote:

If the username "ubuntu" with an empty password doesn't work, you may be able to add a new user to the system as follows.

Press Ctrl+Alt+F1 and run this command:

adduser username


_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:19 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2348
Location: Capital District Area, NY
evasive wrote:

If the username "ubuntu" with an empty password doesn't work, you may be able to add a new user to the system as follows.

Press Ctrl+Alt+F1 and run this command:

adduser username


:? I'll ask again, how? When do I run the command?

Where in this process do I run the command?

Reboot my system to boot from CDROM
PC boots from CDROM
Starts to Load ubuntu 15.04
loads to ubuntu desktop
asks for username & password


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:34 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
once you are on the desktop, press Ctrl-Alt-F1, this should open a command window with a prompt where you type

adduser user_you_want_to_make
<Enter>

that should add that user which you can use to login. if that doesn't work either, something is wrong with the keyboard or the CMOS battery...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:58 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17142
Location: England
Are you getting it from here? If so there should be no default user name and password until you are on the desktop trying things out. If you install it to a drive, during the install, you set your user name and password and... And if you do something at 'root' level for the first time it will ask you for a password, whatever you enter at that point becomes the 'root' password...

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 2:28 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2348
Location: Capital District Area, NY
@ evasive - I tried Ctrl-Alt-F1 at the desktop, no luck. :(
After I tried other distros, I needed to reset my clock when I was using WindowsXP again.
Does that mean anything?

@MrT - yes, that is where I got both Ubuntu 14.04 & 15.04 ISO's

What do I do now?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:23 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Quote:
I needed to reset my clock... again.

Sure sign the CMOS battery is weak or about to die. Time for a new one?
The battery is good for 3 to 4 years, depending on use. It is only a backup power source for when the PSU is not powered, providing +5 volts stand-by which powers the USB ports and CMOS/BIOS needs.
For a laptop or tablet, the AC power brick provides charging and other needs.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:19 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2348
Location: Capital District Area, NY
Karlsweldt wrote:
Quote:
I needed to reset my clock... again.

Sure sign the CMOS battery is weak or about to die. Time for a new one?
The battery is good for 3 to 4 years, depending on use. It is only a backup power source for when the PSU is not powered, providing +5 volts stand-by which powers the USB ports and CMOS/BIOS needs.
For a laptop or tablet, the AC power brick provides charging and other needs.


So if I replace my CMOS battery would the solve the username / password problem?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 2:59 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
No, that is a different "deck of cards" concerning passwords or user names for programming. But if the BIOS is not configured exactly as the system is set up, some devices or features may not be accessible.

I sent you a PM about some general password problems. But if Linux set a password on access to the 'root', it likely was some key function or sequence you executed.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group