Windows 10

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Re: Windows 10

Postby Mark H » Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:30 pm

Tablet/laptop. Dell Inspiron 11-3147. But, I'll take your challenge and try it on my REALLY old desktop I recently upgraded from XP to 7. May or may not work, ya never know...

*Edit*
Looks like my Athlon 64 X2 3800+ is not compatible, so can't install Win 10. :(
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Re: Windows 10

Postby Karlsweldt » Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:12 am

Looks like my Athlon 64 X2 3800+ is not compatible, so can't install Win 10.

Call it "planned obsolescence" or "out with the old". The default will be 64-bit OS versions vs. 32-bit.
A major amount of old computers and such will be delegated to the scrap pile!
My systems too. Expensive 'upgrade' ahead just to be part of the action.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Windows 10

Postby Mark H » Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:23 am

Well, was a thought. Don't use it anymore, so may just pull the drives, and dump it. Just bought a new video card (AGP) to run 7.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Re: Windows 10

Postby Karlsweldt » Thu Apr 09, 2015 3:37 pm

There is some scuttlebutt that there may be a final Win 10 version in 32-bit. But I would not bet on it.
Reportedly, the 'field test' minimal requirements for Win 10 are the same as for Win 8.
Some old 64bit CPU’s without PAE, NX, and SSE2 may not be compatible to the trial install of Win 10.
But Vista still is supported, so too Win 7 and 8.
Windows life cycle limits: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/lifecycle
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Windows 10

Postby Mark H » Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:21 pm

Karlsweldt wrote:Some old 64bit CPU’s without PAE, NX, and SSE2 may not be compatible to the trial install of Win 10.

Therein lies my problem. CPU has PAE and SSE2 but not NX.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Re: Windows 10

Postby evasive » Fri Apr 10, 2015 2:41 am

You could wait for just over a day and go here again:
http://elementary.io/

Granted, it is not windows. But it will do nicely for almost everything you did with Windows...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Windows 10

Postby Karlsweldt » Fri Apr 10, 2015 6:40 am

One may think there is a sort of secretive "cold war" with no acceptance of a CPU that does not have the NX (non-executable bit) feature for newer OS versions.
But there are many AMD processors that do have the NX feature.
A list of AMD processor types: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_AM ... processors
I did note that the Athlon 64 X2 3800+ is listed as supporting NX. Do a deep check in the BIOS pages, there may be a control line to enable that feature?
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Windows 10

Postby Mark H » Fri Apr 10, 2015 6:58 am

Karl, I did go through the BIOS, I'll look again, and do a web search for my A8V mobo.

*Edit*
Went back to my Newegg order history, and the CPU does not support NX. Not surprising for a 10 year old system. I'll run it until Win 7 support ends, then scrap it. Already moved the "My Documents" folder to my laptop.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Re: Windows 10

Postby Karlsweldt » Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:25 pm

Did some 'browsing', found nothing conclusive that your A8V can support those PAE, NX, and SSE2 features all together.
If interested:
Asus A8V manual: http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/soc ... deluxe.pdf
Win 8 support info: http://www.asus.com/support/Article/605/
A8V and Athlon 64? http://hardforum.com/printthread.php?t=1856378
BIOS update? http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?S ... luxe&os=17
(A8V Deluxe Beta BIOS version 1018.002 2007.08.29 update)
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Windows 10

Postby Mark H » Sat Apr 11, 2015 5:02 pm

Ran "Coreinfo" and CPU DOES support PAE, NX, and SSE2. Motherboard is A8V, not the "Deluxe" I posted earlier (oops :oops: ). Time to look for BIOS update....
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

PreviousNext

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: trendictionbot [Bot] and 1 guest