The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:08 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 10:52 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I tested the memory using my sata dvd drive and it check out ... I tested the hard drive ...it checked out ... then I tried to use the xp install disk to do a repair ... it loaded up ... then the computer gave me the BSD stating a problem was detected ... I tried to reboot and try again but instead of going to the cd ... it would go to the hard drive again and to the rebooting thing. I took that disk out and tried another xp recovery disk ... it loaded up ... then when I hit the R for repair ... I got another blue screen .... "a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer."
PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA

If this is the first time you've seen this stoperror screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:
Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed. If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer for any windows updates you might need. If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware or software. Disable BIOS memory options suck as chching or shadowing. If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup options, and then select Safe Mode.

Technical information: *** STOP: 0x00000050 (0xC18C0000,0x00000000,0x807EA8E8,0x00000000) ....


So ...that is as far as I got ... don't know what's up with it crashing ... PDT_Armataz_01_19

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 5:24 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Any "repair" process has to be done with the exact same OS version install disk. If the hard drive has bad sectors or corrupt file tables, then the "repair" process may abort. Should be not too difficult to do a disk scan and defrag on the drive if in another good system. As to the host system locking up if the drive is connected, could be the host machine's BIOS does not properly access the tracks/heads/sectors configuration.. but still would report the stats properly. With some not-too-old systems, maximum might be 500 GB or less.
As to having a port card for IDE, ensure it is 'secondary' as to assignment. Otherwise, it will conflict with the on-board feature. If the card has two IDE ports, then disabling the on-board feature may be best. Or, if you have several SATA ports on that mobo, get the SATA to PATA adapter. Just set the drive for stand-alone or master only.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 7:56 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
The PCI card was defective so I pulled my sata drive and ran the tests ... I tested the memory ... it was good ... I tested the hard drive ... it was good too ... I tried to do a repair with the xp recovery disk and the install disk and I posted the results in my last post ... windows keeps crashing every time I try something with the install disk I originally used when I did a fresh install. What I am trying to figure out now is why windows is having a problem and is crashing when I try to do a repair. PDT_Armataz_01_05

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 1:34 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well sir ... I wiped the hard drive with the mini tool and son of a gun if it won't load the OS disk!!!! I get "boot from cd" ... but I don't get the press any key to boot from the cd ... I just get the one message "boot from cd" ... then it give ... "disk boot failure insert system disk and press enter" .... the bios sees the dvd drive so I don't know why it is not responding ... I had a feeling it would give me a problem but I don't know why ...

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 2:56 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Just "wiping" the hard drive may leave some hidden OS files that the install process finds. The only sure way to delete all files from a previous OS use is to delete any existing partitions, and restart with none found. Then create new, and the path should be easy.
As soon as you see that "press any key to boot from CD ROM" press the space bar. You have less than 5 seconds to respond.
If the OS install is on a DVD format optical disk, an ordinary CD drive cannot read it. A DVD disk has more densely packed tracks, and can have dual data layers. A CD disk has only one data layer. A CD disk holds about 700 MB of data. A DVD disk can have up to 4.7 gigabytes of data. Might be time to get a new DVD R/RW unit that is capable of reading Bluray disks. They are not that expensive. Your older unit can do secondary duty.

Seems I keep repeating.. the laser lens in an optical drive is very attractive to dust particles and pollution debris. Even in a home where no one smokes, cooking fumes and other particulates can find their way to the lens. Use a laser lens cleaning disk. Two minutes, should be like new again! But never use any cleaning solution containing ammonia. That will permanently cloud the polycarbonate lens.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 5:55 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well sir ... turns out the OS disk was bad ... I had a back up one and that one installed ... the machine is back on line and I am in the process of installing comodo antivirus and Java ... hopefully I will be able to report back that the machine is running normally again... PDT_Armataz_01_11

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:18 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Good you are making progress! The data layer surface of an optical disk has to be handled carefully.. to avoid scratches. They cause read errors when in use. Some "polishing" kits are available, but use with caution. The only safe compound for polishing is 1,000 grit jeweler's rouge or finer.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:46 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Got her going again ... the solution to the problem unfortunately was to wipe the drive and reinstall the OS ... I use mini tool to wipe the drive, and I used the slowest setting to do it. The IDE DVD drive was totally useless so I order a SATA DVD drive from New Egg on sale for $13 to the door. Now it won't be a paper weight if the OS go out. I'm wonder does anyone have any idea what could have corrupted windows so bad like that? :roll: So far I have Comodo anti virus ... Malwarebytes installed ... should I install other software protection? Should I install spybot and spyware blaster too? :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:41 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
One good anti-virus and firewall suite should be all you need. Having duplicate programs in operation can cause extensive slowing of response. Each similar program wants to dominate!
Adding secondary programs such as Malwarebytes or similar are an adjunct.. only for second-level security.
There are a few good "free" or Shareware anti-virus and firewall programs available. But the best protection is with a purchased program suite. No program can give "ultimate" protection against hackers and Trojans.
As to your OS being hosed.. could have been a very brief power fluctuation, and the write process to the hard drive was corrupt.. even though the machine kept operating normally. The PSU has only about 1/2 second of reserve before loosing all output.
Had you first tried a 'repair' operation with a new optical drive and good OS disk, you might have been able to salvage some of your data. But that is "water under the bridge". Gone.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group