The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:39 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:59 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
I think there's a program that will download all the windows updates for offline use so you can install them without internet access. Let's see if I can find it back...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:19 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Avoid third-party sources for OS updates.. they may be tainted!
You can DL an image of SP3 separately, for XP, directly from Microsoft®.
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=25129
Here is a link to Microsoft® concerning all the "fixes" in SP 3.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/946480
Will be looking for a list of other update "fixes" that came separately. Possibly, like with Win 98SE, MS will post a DL source for all patches.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:52 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 2:11 pm
Posts: 1432
Location: Mucus City, USA
evasive wrote:
I think there's a program that will download all the windows updates for offline use so you can install them without internet access. Let's see if I can find it back...

The MS app is wsus, but it won't run on a desktop OS. Has to be a server.

www.wsusoffline.net, OTOH, is made for desktops ...but don't dawdle.

_________________
-- Campy

"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: I got an update
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:39 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I got a security update for XP after the 8th ... that was a surprise ... :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 8:20 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
I also got two updates for my XP installs. One was the 'malicious software' removal tool (KB890830). You will still get that update, and only that one, for several months more. If not, then DL it directly from MS..
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... tails.aspx
For servers and POS/ACH systems still using Win XP installs, they are excepted and will continue to get certain updates for security. But not for much longer.
This is a listing of security updates for Windows versions from Win 8.1 back to Win XP and Servers.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/894199
If it comes to the point of needing to reinstall Win XP freshly, you can go to the MS update site and DL most of the patches.. they will not be automatic.
www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/default.aspx

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:44 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
BrevCampagnolo wrote:
evasive wrote:
I think there's a program that will download all the windows updates for offline use so you can install them without internet access. Let's see if I can find it back...

The MS app is wsus, but it won't run on a desktop OS. Has to be a server.

www.wsusoffline.net, OTOH, is made for desktops ...but don't dawdle.


That will save the internet connection here from getting clogged until they setup a full wsus server. Works really well combined with psexec I have to say. Just remember to put in the credentials in the net use <driveletter>: line for your batch file...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 3:04 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 2:11 pm
Posts: 1432
Location: Mucus City, USA
wsusoffline doesn't seem to get all of the available updates. I've run it until it didn't download anything more, then ran it twice more (confirming nothing else was down-loadable), then used it to patch a fresh install of XP. Typical M$ patching process, certain patches have to be applied in order, so you have to execute it repeatedly until it doesn't apply any more patches. Then I went to Windoze online update in IE8, and it still downloaded eight or nine "critical" updates and a dozen or so optional ones.

But it got on the order of 130 of them, which saves A LOT time and bandwidth, each time I do another XP install.

_________________
-- Campy

"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 9:53 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
oh. I have an SP3 install here that does 163 patches in the first round and no more than that if repeated. what commandline options/checkmarks are you using (GUI or the DoUpdate.cmd method)?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 8:45 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 2:11 pm
Posts: 1432
Location: Mucus City, USA
I've only used the GUI. Which is strange, considering me. I should RTFM and use command line, huh?

_________________
-- Campy

"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 11:38 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Do you really want an answer from me on that? :lol:

from the cmd folder:
DoUpdate /nobackup /updatercerts /updatedx /updatewmp /updatetsc /autoreboot

keep in mind this thing only installs critical updates, any optional updates will still be installed after that if you choose to do so.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group