WindowsXP reinstalled on new drive

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

WindowsXP reinstalled on new drive

Postby gate4exec » Sat Sep 21, 2013 9:28 am

Newbie here. This one should be easy for you experts to answer.

I have a 10 year old "retail purchased" WinXP that my kids use. The original OEM hard drive has failed. I'd like to replace it, but not sure how to get WindowsXP OS installed on any new drive that I purchase.
I don't have any Recovery discs or WinXP OS software.
How do I go about doing this?
Naturally, I have the Windows product key, but I don't own the Windows XP OS software. (Btw, I have no desire to upgrade to any other Windows OS. I just want WinXP installed on a new hard drive.)

Any ideas?
gate4exec
Initiate
Initiate

Postby Mr T » Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:55 am

See if you can borrow a disc from someone, it must be the same type of winXP of the retail edition -i.e., if it is retail XP Home, you must use a retail XP home edition disc. If you cannot get one, look online..
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Postby gate4exec » Sat Sep 21, 2013 1:08 pm

Mr T wrote:See if you can borrow a disc from someone, it must be the same type of winXP of the retail edition -i.e., if it is retail XP Home, you must use a retail XP home edition disc. If you cannot get one, look online..

Yeah, it's XP Home edition.

Any suggestions of websites that will have it?
PM if necessary. :)
gate4exec
Initiate
Initiate

Postby Toby B. » Sat Sep 21, 2013 2:51 pm

gate4exec wrote: