Win 7 won't install DVD driver

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Win 7 won't install DVD driver

Postby Ol Dave » Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:40 pm

Help!!!

Win 7 seems to have lost and now won't install the DVD driver...

Used to work fine and all of a sudden the drive is not regonized. Checked in device manager and it says there's a problem with the driver. Tried to re-install but un-successful. Appreciate any ideas...

Not fond of downloading a free driver "cure" to only find they charge later.

DVD in question is Liteon iHas424


CPU = AMD Phenom X4 970
MOTHERBOARD = Asus Crosshair Formula IV
RAM = 4 x 2gig Corsair
HEATSINK = Stock
OS = Win 7 64bit Pro
POWER SUPPLY = OCZ 1000w
VIDEO CARD = 2 x XFX 5870
SOUND CARD = M-Audio 5.1
CASE = Thermaltake Saprano
Ol Dave
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:04 pm

Postby evasive » Fri Feb 11, 2011 6:18 am

if checking the data cable and pushing it in firmly does not help, download this:
http://fileforum.betanews.com/download/ ... 86760019/1
update, do a full scan. sounds like a software baddy to me.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Mr T » Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:25 am

Also check filters have not been set, some software does this...

Here
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17093
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby Ol Dave » Fri Feb 11, 2011 1:15 pm

Thanks guys!
I tried removing the filter in the registry and that did the trick. I don't understand why it worked for awhile and then stopped, but it works now...
Ol Dave
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:04 pm

Postby Ol Dave » Fri Feb 11, 2011 1:44 pm

I didn't mention it, but I also swapped sata cables twice and re-seated the power connector a couple of times to no avail. I had been messing around in the case on the other drives and it's all to easy to tug on something unintentionally, especially in a crammed full case.

Is it just me or do the sata data cables seem to be a bit touchy anyway?
Ol Dave
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:04 pm

Postby Roach412 » Fri Feb 11, 2011 2:19 pm

Ol Dave wrote:Is it just me or do the sata data cables seem to be a bit touchy anyway?


i've found that certain cables tend to work better or worse on both the motherboard and drives.

for example, i used my data cables from my old ASUS board on my DFI - and it didn't sit/clip perfectly. had to really give it some elbow grease to get it in. since my desktop is semi-portable (micro atx lanbox) i lug it around to various places and this eventually led to drives not being found since the cables worked themselves out of connection apparently.

eventually i decided i'd just pull it all out and go with the cables that came with the DFI board, and they fit perfectly snug with no issues. they also seemed to really "pop" into the drive connectors, whereas the ASUS ones seemed more tight-fit, but the prongs didn't really clamp in well.

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Postby Karlsweldt » Fri Feb 11, 2011 2:30 pm

Ol Dave wrote:Is it just me or do the sata data cables seem to be a bit touchy anyway?

There are only seven leads in the SATA cables, compared to perhaps 80 in an IDE cable. And the connector ends are not the same high-density rigid moldings as used with IDE cables. The ends of SATA cables are injection-molded of a higher-density compound than the cables themselves, and can become a bit soft at high temperatures.. leading to "wiggle-out" problems and loose connections. Then too, the IDE connector envelopes each pin with a pinch-type connection, where the SATA connection is similar to the USB method.. flat face contact only.
If curious about SATA connections, check this this link.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby evasive » Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:01 am

a touch of hot-glue will keep them in place and you still can remove them if needed.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest