What OS can run up to 16 gb of DRAM3

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

What OS can run up to 16 gb of DRAM3

Postby Gorm » Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:31 pm

I'm looking to build a desktop, looking at hardware. Been out of the loop for years, need to know what OS and or OE will read up to 16 gb of ram? Thanks...or at least the limits of OS/OE that are out there. I've looked everywhere and haven't found any information.
Gorm
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:25 pm

Postby Big Jake » Sat Dec 25, 2010 1:02 pm

A complete and accurate answer would be lengthy. The link below is a recent article that explains in detail the answer to your question.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/ram ... ,2778.html
Big Jake
 

Postby fussnfeathers » Sat Dec 25, 2010 1:57 pm

Keeping it short and simple, you need a 64 bit OS. Windows 7 Home Premium and above will recognize more than 4GB (home prmium will use up to 16GB, anything above will recognize up to 192GB).
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you


Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests