Will Windows 7 run on an ASUS P5V800-MX?

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Will Windows 7 run on an ASUS P5V800-MX?

Postby monkey100 » Mon Nov 15, 2010 2:30 pm

64 bit and 32 bit WIN7 installer hangs when the blue "desktop" comes up. Nothing after that. XP-MCE is currently running fine for many years. Have tried removing all cards, etc.
Is there a minimum BIOS level for WIN7?
Intel Pentium D 840 3.2GHz , 2GB DDR (maxed out)

If this will never work I'll be looking for reccomendations for a reasonably priced board.
Thanks in advance.
monkey100
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 7:10 am

Postby Big Jake » Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:13 pm

I have run win 7 32 bit on two different socket 478 boards. Make sure your BIOS is current.

You may find this helpful.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... 97c146af15
Big Jake
 

Postby bdub » Tue Nov 16, 2010 6:48 am

i remember tell of the d840 being quite an overclocker. do you have it running at stock settings? if not, try backing it down.
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby Hardware Junkie » Tue Nov 16, 2010 12:19 pm

No reason why it shouldn't run Windows 7. Its a 64bit processor as well.

We've just finished upgrading a bunch of scrap Pentium 4 workstations with Windows 7, 1.5-2GB RAM minimum. And they all worked fine.
Could be a built in driver problem.

One thing you could try is switching SATA Emulation from AHCI to IDE, but that usually only causes problems during installation, not when its finished.

Could try booting into SafeMode and allowing the drivers to finish that way.

There is a 2009/02/13 beta bios update but I would only do it as a last resort.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh


Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests