Linux suggestions?

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby AmEv » Thu May 20, 2010 7:58 pm

I got your PM!


Yeah, try getting the internal card removed, buy a USB stick (compatibility list), and try installing from CD directly, BIOS setting.




Hope my good charms get passed to you!

PS: My desk is made of wood.
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.
AmEv
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they

Postby fussnfeathers » Thu May 20, 2010 8:29 pm

Ugh..........ok, my wireless card won't work on anything new, that's not a shock. That's not where I'm having the problem. I don't even have that plugged in ATM, so it shouldn't even be seen at install. I'll yank the internal miniPCI card tomorrow, and see if it gets past that point. If I can just get the friggin' OS installed, I'll be more or less OK, I've got plenty of instructions for that, and if I have to buy something new, I'd rather buy an intermal card first. That way I have wired networking, at least. Just to clarify, I have an Atheros (can't be bothered to look at the model right now) internal card for wired networking and 56k modem, and a PCMCIA plug in card for wireless. Old, but trusty setup in Windows. I never use the modem.............hmm..............blech, I'd rather not spend money on an ethernet-only card for this old beastie.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby AmEv » Fri May 21, 2010 6:21 am

Hmmmm.....


Any PCMCIA slots? Something like this might work.
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.
AmEv
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they

Postby fussnfeathers » Fri May 21, 2010 3:40 pm

fussnfeathers wrote:and a PCMCIA plug in card for wireless.


Yeah, got one. I'm pretty much set against spending any money on this. The whole point was to see if I could, indeed, put Linux on an old, but good system, annnnnnnnnnnnnnnd.........nope. Not anything up to date.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby Mr T » Sun May 23, 2010 4:48 am

Try this, remove the hard drive and run the live CD......?
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17087
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby AmEv » Mon May 24, 2010 6:41 am

Wait.....


I had 192MB SDRAM installed when I installed 10.04 on my lappy.



Might RAM be bad?
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.
AmEv
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they

Postby fussnfeathers » Mon May 24, 2010 10:44 am

Nope. I had W2K installed on this, working fine, just pretty much useless, XP on it now, running fine. I did run Memtest overnight, zero errors.

Removing the hard drive did nothing, still couldn't load past that hang point.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby AmEv » Sat May 29, 2010 12:40 pm

Last ditch effort:


Install HDD in 2nd computer, by itself. Install Ubuntu from there.





Sheesh, if it weren't Compaq proprietary, I'd send you my miniPCI network/modem card.
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.
AmEv
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they

Postby fussnfeathers » Sat May 29, 2010 2:17 pm

I thought of that, but reality hit me upside the head when I realized my HDD dock is SATA only.

TBH, I haven't even looked much at it in the last few days, just some reading here and there, and a poke at it before I try to sleep. Getting the feeling it's pretty much a lost cause on this one, everything that SHOULD work, doesn't.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby AmEv » Sat May 29, 2010 9:27 pm

Poke around your friends, they might have one. You might get lucky.






But yeah, odd that plug and play is plug and play.... with your mind.
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.
AmEv
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they

PreviousNext

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron