XPhome and sp2

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

cw4cam
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Middlesboro KY

XPhome and sp2

Post by cw4cam »

I have a legal copy of XP home I'm installing on my daughter's computer. My question is, do I add sp 1 or sp2 neither or both?
"A pessimist sees a problem with an opportunity. an optimist sees an opportunity with a problem."
Winston Churchill

Civilization is invaded by barbarians every generation. (author unknown)
User avatar
jimmy-j
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3529
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:40 pm
Location: U.K.

Post by jimmy-j »

If you connect to the inter-net with it go for SP2 and all security updates,
but if it is not connected to any other computer system then it should run fine with the basic install.
User avatar
snakebite66
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2098
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:18 pm
Location: West Midlands UK

Post by snakebite66 »

If you have a basic XP copy (no SPs) run automatic updates which will update and then ask to update SP2 (it will skip SP1)

I would highly recommend you load SP2 and all the other security updates...
"Take counsel in wine, but resolve afterwards in water."
Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790)
Copper
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 8640
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:38 pm
Location: Midlands UK

Post by Copper »

the first update will be SP2.

SP1 is nolonger avaiable

sp2 must be installed to receive an more updates
"Only two thing are infinite, the universe and human stupidity,and Im not sure about the former." Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37617
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by evasive »

It will install Microsft Installer 3.1 and the WGA check as first two updates, you need to reboot after them, anything else comes after that. Which is most likely SP2 and some 70 other updates.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
cw4cam
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Middlesboro KY

Post by cw4cam »

Thanks for the info folks. I have a copy of sp2 and I will install.
I just wasn't sure if sp2 went with the home version. I have had this XP disk for several years and never used it because I purchased XP pro for myself, so I'm installing the home version on my daughter's machine, which presently has ME. It's dialup internet here so it will take a while to get all the updates.
Thanks again :D
"A pessimist sees a problem with an opportunity. an optimist sees an opportunity with a problem."
Winston Churchill

Civilization is invaded by barbarians every generation. (author unknown)
olly
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 8:11 pm

Post by olly »

Does SP1/2 provide some additional drivers? At least my laptop has XP (No SP) and I heard I need SP1/2 to get some USB controller to up my USB speed. Sound right? :?
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37617
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by evasive »

USB 2.0 support non-existant in vanilla XP. That's where the SP comes in...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
Copper
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 8640
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:38 pm
Location: Midlands UK

Post by Copper »

olly wrote:Does SP1/2 provide some additional drivers? At least my laptop has XP (No SP) and I heard I need SP1/2 to get some USB controller to up my USB speed. Sound right? :?
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/sp2/default.mspx
"Only two thing are infinite, the universe and human stupidity,and Im not sure about the former." Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)
sbrehm72255
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:40 am

Post by sbrehm72255 »

The best thing to do for current and future use would be to slipstream your current basic XP version to SP2. They will save from downloading updates in case of future installs.........;)

http://www.theeldergeek.com/slipstreamed_xpsp2_cd.htm
Post Reply