New HD Not Detected, BIOS Upgrade Needed

Moderator: The Mod Squad

New HD Not Detected, BIOS Upgrade Needed

Postby muhnuckaz » Fri Sep 13, 2002 5:02 pm

I just bought an 80GB Maxtor Drive, which is not detected and hangs the system when being searched for in the BIOS.

I am attributing this to a BIOS in need of a flashing :D However, I don't know what upgrade I need. Here are all the stats I could compile.

BIOS ID: 2A6LJAB9C
BIOS DATE: 01/17/00
BIOS SIGNON: 01/17/2000-694X-686A-2A6LJAB9C-00
BIOS TYPE: Award Modular BIOS v4.60PGA
SUPER I/O: VIA 686 rev 21 found at port 7h
CHIPSET: VIA 82C691 rev 130
OEM SINGON: S61 R01-F0 Jan.17.2000 Acer Inc.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated, thanks.
muhnuckaz
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri Sep 13, 2002 5:15 pm

Aopen Motherboard....could be the AX64 or AX34...
check the surface of the motherboard for those model numbers
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby muhnuckaz » Fri Sep 13, 2002 5:56 pm

All I see is the Part# and Doc#, 46.35G02.001 and ASP14-9908R1, respectively.
muhnuckaz
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri Sep 13, 2002 6:07 pm

AX64:

Image

AX34:

Image

Look like the ones above?
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby muhnuckaz » Fri Sep 13, 2002 6:13 pm

AX64, Thanks so much!

Now to find it...
muhnuckaz
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri Sep 13, 2002 6:22 pm

"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby muhnuckaz » Fri Sep 13, 2002 6:26 pm

I tried flashing version R1.10 and it told me I had the wrong BIOS for my MB....but I definitely have the AX64, it's the same as the picture above. Any ideas?
muhnuckaz
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri Sep 13, 2002 6:37 pm

Its possible its using a SyncMax BIOS or an Acer BIOS...so it should be just warning you about potential problems if you do flash.
You should be able to continue.

But do so at your own risk.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby muhnuckaz » Fri Sep 13, 2002 6:40 pm

It just flashes the error message at the bottom of the screen, no way to continue..

EDIT: Maybe its the flash utility I'm using? I'm using the one that came with the .bin, should I try AWDFLASH or something?
muhnuckaz
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri Sep 13, 2002 6:52 pm

Heres a link to 8.02 of the utility

http://www.amptron.com/utilities/AWD802.EXE
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Next

Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Bot], Google [Bot] and 2 guests