The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 6:49 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2002 7:55 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 6:54 am
Posts: 3
Location: Richmond Va
I wanted to upgrade HDD and bought an 80g maxtor. okay cart before horse I'll take the lumps. Now looking to complete install and need help with options for a bios upgrade. I found that eSupport will sell me one that will allow up to 130g hdd support. Are there other options?

ran bios agent and here's what I know;

Bios Date: 06/25/98
Bios Type: Award modular bios v4.51PG
Bios ID: 06/25/98-SiS-5598-W877F-2A5IIG5CC-00
Bios Eval: Packard Bell FR500 Bios Version v1.03
Chipset: SiS 5597 rev 16
Superio: Winbond 877TF (use 87h) rev 0 found at port 3F0h

Found that the G5 designates a 'gvc' motherboard and that I have the Cyrix M-II 300 processor. However gvc.com is no help

Any help is much appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2002 11:17 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Here is the latest bios:
http://support.packardbell-europe.com/s ... 0.asp?c=ap

Chances are it won't help you support an 80GB drive.
You might want to consider using an ATA controller card in the system.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:21 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 9:49 am
Posts: 4
hey i bought myself a maxtor 80gb recently too it has a jumper setting so if your drive is not dected by the bios it can fool the bios into thinking its less then 30gb (or whatever the limit may be) then u can just load the software provided and it works like a charm!..you should try it..if the bios upgrade doesnt help you

hth

Vick


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:24 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
The software your talking about is a drive overlay type of software. That is another option for you and might be a good idea.

Good post vick. 8)

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2002 2:49 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 1577
Location: Around Hannover - Germany
Or jump to www.wimsbios.com into the discussion Board and let your 4.51PG based Bios be patched for HDD up to 128GB !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2002 2:14 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 6:54 am
Posts: 3
Location: Richmond Va
Dudes Thanks for the quick replies! I haven't a clue as to
drive-overlay-ware but as you suspected the bios at the europe pb site is 1998 and may not be of much help now, cept if I slip and need a recovery!

So... An ATA adaptor or a software workaround...

1 Costs $$ and 2 costs disk access time forever, yes?

Thanks for the lowdown looks like I'll look at the costs for an ATA card, in theory that sounds like the way to go. however if everything is cost equivilent what are the technical pros/cons?

Also what's important in matchin a bios update? everything? I mean MB/Processor/Bios Manufacturer/...

Thanks again your help is invaluable. Joe.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2002 3:02 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
With an ATA Adapter (costs maybe 20-35 bucks) it should pick it up as the main boot device - you may have to disable the onboard IDE channels to make it work though...

Drive Overlay software doesn't slow down access time too much. Your independant hard drive manufacturer would have this information and the software to download

Quote:
Also what's important in matchin a bios update? everything? I mean MB/Processor/Bios Manufacturer


BIOS Updates can only be developped by the manufacturer of the motherboard. In some other cases a general bios can be obtained by Unicore (http://www.mrbios.com) aswell.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 2:34 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 1577
Location: Around Hannover - Germany
Rainbow from www.wimsbios.com has developed a small program to fix the 32GB and 64GB BUGs in Award 4.51PG Bios and offers his help in the discussionboard there .
He and the other moderators there helped many people to get their new big size HDD to work and this is FREE !
And this Bugfix does not cost performance .


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2002 5:04 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 6:54 am
Posts: 3
Location: Richmond Va
Re: wimsbios, I had looked and not found something specific to the gvc mobo but, I've not asked over there. That was part of the reason for the question on 'how specific does a bios fix need to match' in my last post here.

Are bios's tweaked for specific applications like mobo/processor/peripherials?

Are there any other, likely, bad/unpleasant outcomes from using a bios patch from other than the mobo oem?

I'll see what I can find over there. Thanks for the leg up.

Joe.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2002 5:19 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 1577
Location: Around Hannover - Germany
You have to post in the discussion board and the moderators will try to patch your bios - the nonworking IDE detect routines will be replaced with working ones .


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group