looking for bios upgrade

Moderator: The Mod Squad

looking for bios upgrade

Postby vick » Thu Sep 12, 2002 9:52 am

Hello, I am looking for a bios upgrade for the following bios.
Award Modular Bios v4.51PG
Award ID String: i440LX-W83977-2A69JG5lC-00
Board Bios Version: Pentium 2
2A69J: Intel 440LX/Ex Chipset (P2 based chipset)
G5: GVC Manufacture
Home URL for GVC: www.gvc.com.tw

however the above site doesn't have any files for download
anyone know where i can find an update?

thanks
Vick@zor.org
vick
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 9:49 am

Postby evasive » Thu Sep 12, 2002 10:28 am

GVC was merged with BCM. You will probably not find your board there however, you seem to have one that was made for GOBI computers and they seems to have vanished completely...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby vick » Thu Sep 12, 2002 1:20 pm

that's right...i got this one free from someone..now i cant install win2k on as it wants me to flash my bios since the current acpi is not supported for some reason! oh well..thanks for the help :)
vick
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 9:49 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Thu Sep 12, 2002 1:30 pm

Take a look to see if this matches your board.

http://www.bcmcom.com/tech/kr632/KR632.htm
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby evasive » Thu Sep 12, 2002 2:06 pm

Most likely it will match but the only bioses available are AMI, not Award...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Hardware Junkie » Thu Sep 12, 2002 2:25 pm

Maybe Micronics changed it to its own Award BIOS...

Model Micronics C300-A06
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby evasive » Thu Sep 12, 2002 2:36 pm

We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby evasive » Thu Sep 12, 2002 2:37 pm

Doh, there's a rev A07, let's see what it says:

http://www.diamondmm.com/support/diamon ... oduct=C300

AMI bios...
61-1217-001540-00111111-071595-440LX _TG_1440L000 Micronics C300 - A07
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Hardware Junkie » Thu Sep 12, 2002 2:47 pm

Yeah I found that right afterwards.

I think the only option for an upgrade would be to call Unicore. They make/patch bioses...
Last edited by Hardware Junkie on Thu Sep 12, 2002 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby evasive » Thu Sep 12, 2002 2:57 pm

If the problem is large harddisk support this is an option too:
http://www.wimsbios.net/phpBB2/index.php

Ask them to patch your bios...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Bot], Exabot [Bot] and 1 guest

cron