The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:23 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Gigabyte 8IEXP
PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2002 10:59 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 10:48 am
Posts: 3
I have bought a PC with a GA-8IEXP motherboard.
At page 29 of the Ga-8IEX Series User’s manual (technical reference) the “set supervisor/user password” function is explained. This function seems not operative on the BIOS F5 or F6 or F7 version. In fact at line 13 it is written: “if you select “System” at “Security option” in Advance Bios Feature Menu ……..”. However in Advance Bios Feature Menu the Security option is not present!
Have I not understood?
[/b]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2002 12:43 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Is there a Set Supervisor Password option present?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2002 10:39 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 10:48 am
Posts: 3
yes; the set supervisor password option is present; I have created this password for BIOS access; it is no longer possible to cancel them!!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2002 11:24 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
change supervisor password, enter old password, hit enter on the new password and once again on the confirm new password, that should clear it.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 1:03 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 10:48 am
Posts: 3
It is the classic method, but here it works not!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 11:06 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Then clear the CMOS by using the jumper or pulling out the battery and it should be whipped clean...

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group