BIOS for HP Pavilion

Moderator: The Mod Squad

BIOS for HP Pavilion

Postby embj » Sat Aug 24, 2002 10:43 am

I need a BIOS for the HP Pavilion Xt983.
I have 512mb of PC133 SDRAM in it.
In it now is the Phoenix BIOS 4.0 Release 6.0.
It is a Athlon Thunderbird 1.4ghz.
Does anybody know if there is a BIOS update for it.
I have already tried HP. They of coarse were no help.
I have no clue as to what the motherboard is either seeing the Phoenix BIOS ID Strings cannot be used as motherboard ID's.
If you want more of my specs click on the link.
http://www.hp.com/cposupport/personal_c ... tml#P7_160

Thanks for all of your help.
8)
embj
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Postby Tolemac » Sat Aug 24, 2002 8:07 pm

Welcome to the Mother Board!

There are no current BIOS updates that I can see. If you could describe the board and any writing on it, we might be able to pin down what model mobo it is. 8)
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby embj » Sun Aug 25, 2002 4:34 am

I found out from HP that it is a Santa Fe mobo with a Via KL 133 Chipset. It has two DIMM slots, four PCI slots, no ISA slots, a S3 Savage4 with 32mb of shared RAM, a built in AC97 Sound Card, a built in Realtek RTL8139 NIC, and a chip (not sure what it is) that says Via VT82C86B. It has 3 temperature sensors on it also.
embj
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Postby evasive » Sun Aug 25, 2002 5:40 am

May or may not work, proceed at your own risk.

http://www.e4all.info/motherboards/santafe.htm

Image
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby embj » Sun Aug 25, 2002 2:03 pm

Thanks. I found something at www.phoenix.com and it says that PhoenixBIOS 4.0 Release 6.1 is available. I want to know how I can download it. Does anyobody know if it will work? If so where I can download it?
embj
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Postby profofpcs » Sun Aug 25, 2002 4:54 pm

Why do you need a bios update? If HP doesn't list an update then there isn't one yet. If your puter is working, don't update. The HP bios are notorious for trouble after flashing. I have flashed my bios and they were ok, but I know a few ppl who have done it and had to go back to the original bios due to problems. Same goes for the driver upgrades from HP......LOTS of trouble with those personally. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Image

depression is just anger without the enthusiasm
anger is just danger without the "d"
profofpcs
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9891
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2002 9:07 am
Location: gold country

Postby embj » Mon Aug 26, 2002 12:13 pm

I need a BIOS update because from previous experience when I flashed my BIOS to upgrade it, it put all of the settings in it. Which allowed me to overclock my comp. 8)
embj
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Postby evasive » Mon Aug 26, 2002 12:52 pm

TriGem boards are already a pain to keep stable at the rated speeds. overclocking one... <chuckle>
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby embj » Mon Aug 26, 2002 3:41 pm

Planning to get a new case and mobo soon!!!!
embj
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Postby Wandering Bear » Sat Aug 31, 2002 8:11 pm

I put in an new ADM k6 550 CPU into my HP Pavilion 6350,but I cant get the current BIOS to recognize the faster speed.
I have looked into the official HP site and they still only have the Old PhoenixBIOS 4.0 Release 6.0.F . I was wondering if anyone knew of a way to tweak this.
Wandering Bear
 


Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest