The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2002 10:52 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 10:38 am
Posts: 7
Location: Canada
[color=black][/color]
Howdy! I recently did a bios update flash of a Pavilion 6330 model #D6379A computer with a downloaded Puma exe. flash untility from the HP site. This Pavilion was running a PhoenixBIOS 4.0 Release 6.0.F. After the flash update, I wound up with vertical screen artifacts on the desktop, and thereafter Windows crashes.
The computer can be started in safe mode, and then I can remove the drivers for the SiS 5597/98 drivers, switch to standard VGA and restart without a problem. However, running in 640X480 resolution with 16 colors isn't exactly cool. I've tried downloading new Sis drivers, but it doesn't change a thing. My question is this:
Can I restore the Pavilion to the original bios somhow? If so, how eactly?? Would appreciate any help anyone can offer.
P.S. I also have had a look at the motherboard numbers on this particular machine, and it might be of help to anyone who needs them.
Thanks in advance for anyone who can help.

Zekestall


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2002 2:00 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
Welcome to the Mother Board!

Please do include all info about your system when posting a problem as that way we know right away what we are dealing with. If the site where you got the last BIOS update has any of the older BIOS' then simply reflash it with the older one. It should take. 8)

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 10:42 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 10:38 am
Posts: 7
Location: Canada
Hello, Tolemac. Thanks for the welcome.
I got the original flash update from the HP site. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to find the original bios for download there yet. If it exists.
I'm looking for PhoenixBIOS 4.0 Release 6.0.F.
It's for a Pavilion 6330 Model # D6379A.
Motherboard appears to be an OEM ASUS board for HP. Socket 7.
Chipset SIS 5598 with AMDK2 300MHZ processor. The BIOS chip is a WINBOND W29C0c0-90.
As I don't know what the hell I'm doing half the time, I don't know if that's enough information for anyone to help locate a flashBIOS for download for this thing. Talk to you later.
Zeke


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 10:54 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Have you tried loading setup defaults?

On startup press F1 to enter setup. While in setup, press F5 to reset to the default settings, press F10 to save and exit from setup and the system should boot back into windows.


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2002 4:11 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 10:38 am
Posts: 7
Location: Canada
Howdy!
Yes, I've tried reseting to defaults, resetting configuration data, disabling then re-enabling SIS video, and using updated drivers for the on-board video. I'm going to have to try plan B, I guess.
That's disabling on-board video in favor of installing a PCI video card and see if that clears up the corrupted display. Windows itself seems to work, it's problems with refresh rates, resolution, and screen size that pile everything up. I can't understand why HP would post stuff on it's site that either hasn't been tested, or just doesn't work. If they were doing that, why wouldn't they at least make a flash program that saved the original bios image before flashing??
Anyways, will let you know how this works out.
Thanks, Zeke


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2002 4:12 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 10:38 am
Posts: 7
Location: Canada
Howdy!
Yes, I've tried reseting to defaults, resetting configuration data, disabling then re-enabling SIS video, and using updated drivers for the on-board video. I'm going to have to try plan B, I guess.
That's disabling on-board video in favor of installing a PCI video card and see if that clears up the corrupted display. Windows itself seems to work, it's problems with refresh rates, resolution, and screen size that pile everything up. I can't understand why HP would post stuff on it's site that either hasn't been tested, or just doesn't work. If they were doing that, why wouldn't they at least make a flash program that saved the original bios image before flashing??
Anyways, will let you know how this works out.
Thanks, Zeke


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2002 12:09 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 1577
Location: Around Hannover - Germany
Do you have the corrupted screen from start-up in Bios screen too or only within windows ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group