Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Moderator: The Mod Squad

User avatar
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 959
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Post by OneSpirit »

I tried checking the 4gb modules with memtest cd version, but it would just lock up or just keep rebooting when doing one mod at a time. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 [email protected]
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64/Linux Mint 19.3
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM/WD M.2 2280 250GB
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64/Linux Mint 19.3
User avatar
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 17191
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Post by Mr T »

Kingston 8Gb on the QVL list - KHX1600C10DB31/8G. It should work However you may have an issue when it reboots on a memtest. You could have a faulty CPU (if you can get a cheapo 1150 CPU of Ebay, its always nice to have as a test chip or borrow one) as the RAM controller is inbuilt into the CPU -if it hasen't been right from the start...
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
User avatar
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 959
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Post by OneSpirit »

To be clear it's not the new 8gb 1600 speed memory that won't do the memory test. When using that memory it won't boot at all ... just the continuous beeping from the BIOS ... then the reboot. With the 4mb memory that is 1333 speed those are the ones that won't do the memory test. I even tried it with difference CD's with the test on it. Same results. With the 2 4mb 1333 speed memory I can't get my browsers to work properly, they just stall or lock up completely ...all browsers I have installed does it. I tried using Malwarebytes, Comodo, SuperAntiSpyware, can't find any malware. :?
Main Rig_Intel i7 [email protected]
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64/Linux Mint 19.3
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM/WD M.2 2280 250GB
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64/Linux Mint 19.3
User avatar
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 17191
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Post by Mr T »

Try this:

Download Ubuntu 17.04. Using a 4Gb pendrive, put it on that using YUMI. WARNING - you will lose all the data on the pendrive doing this, so use a spare/blank one.( Alternatively, burn to a DVD using Imageburn.)

Boot from the pendrive/DVD and follow the instructions - DO NOT INSTALL, use the live desktop (it will give you the choice to try or install, choose try).

All the above is FREE software....

Once at the desktop, see if the you can browse the web painlessly...

Linux is more tolerant of faulty RAM than M$ windows, however if the CPU RAM controller is faulty, Ubuntu will not get to desktop.. This will tell you that the CPU is most likely at fault...
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
User avatar
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 959
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Post by OneSpirit »

Wellsir ... I checked with Kington and the new ram I am trying to us is compatible with the board I have so it must be some kind of malfunction with the mobo. I contacted gigabyte about it but no answer so far. I decide to purchase a new mobo since I want to use the faster ram. It's going to be a pain to start over from scratch. So far I've had to replace the PS, graphic card, memory, and now the mobo. I hope nothing else goes wrong. Of course I will post if I run into a problem ... like not being able to format the drive. :roll:
Main Rig_Intel i7 [email protected]
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64/Linux Mint 19.3
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM/WD M.2 2280 250GB
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64/Linux Mint 19.3
User avatar
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 20868
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Post by Karlsweldt »

Sad news there, the 'horse' can't run anymore. But may be useful to someone else, instead of trashing.
As to reformatting, maybe not required, but the OS will need reactivation at the least, due to different chipset features.
Have you checked all supply voltages at the main connector? All should be within +/- 2% of rating, 1% is ideal. The -12 volt source could be off by 5% and still be good. The "PS good" voltage should be same as the +5 volt source. If much lower, the system may not start or have stability problems. The "PS on" voltage will be near zero when the system is operating, near +5 volts when off. The "stand-by" +12 volts will always be present, active system or not.
Use only a digital multimeter, so as not to load down the voltage readings.
http://pinouts.ru/Power/atx_v2_pinout.shtml
Good luck with it.
[email protected] to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
User avatar
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 959
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Post by OneSpirit »

I thought the drive always had to be formatted and the OS reinstalled. It is a different brand ESC motherboard. It would be nice if all I have to do is reactive the OS. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 [email protected]
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64/Linux Mint 19.3
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM/WD M.2 2280 250GB
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64/Linux Mint 19.3
User avatar
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 20868
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Post by Karlsweldt »

Most newer BIOS programs are compatible wiith each other. Not so with older versions.
A first test would be to boot to the drive in 'safe' mode, before actually going normal. The OS might find newer or different features and install drivers, even in 'safe' mode. But reactivation would be required, per the Microsoft® EULA. Basically, "one OS, one install, one system" is the rule.
[email protected] to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
User avatar
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 959
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Post by OneSpirit »

Okay ... I will try to boot into safe mode once I get the mobo installed and see what happens. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 [email protected]
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64/Linux Mint 19.3
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM/WD M.2 2280 250GB
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64/Linux Mint 19.3
Post Reply