Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Postby OneSpirit » Fri Aug 18, 2017 3:47 pm

This is my i7 machine that I can't seem to get running properly ... I bought a stick of ram 8 gb to replace the two four and to see if I am having a problem with memory ... I installed it and I get these rapid short continuous beep with I tried to boot up. Then it tried to reboot itself. I have to unplug it to stop it from rebooting. I put back the two 4 gb ram and am getting the same, while it didn't do that before I replace the ram. Just would stall out during a memory test through a boot CD. I don't see that code listed for my mobo at the gigabyte site.
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Postby Mr T » Sun Aug 20, 2017 2:04 am

Continuous short beeping with no break is a RAM issue. Make sure it is compatible and installed correctly, ie fully seated...
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17092
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Postby OneSpirit » Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:18 am

Thanks Mr T. This was a new stick of ram (suppose to be) I got from ebay. The seller did a very poor job of packing it, pretty much put it in a long envelope wrapped in paper. It was damaged by the post office. I have to send it back for a replacement ... I told the seller to pack it correct this time with a tracking number something he didn't provide the first time. Took over a week to reach me in Ohio from Calif. I am having one heck of a time getting this computer up and running ... first it was the PS ... then the graphic card ... now the memory ... what next? :(
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Postby Mr T » Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:18 am

... What next? :( If you still have issues, try a different brand of motherboard, but the same chipset. I like Gigabyte, they have done some good stuff, however they have been patchy with some things, notably motherboards. I hope the new RAM resolves your issue...
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17092
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Postby OneSpirit » Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:38 am

Wellsir ... I got a brand new Kingston KVR16R11D8/8 stick and I'm still getting the continuous beeping ... mobo issue? :(
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:45 am

Check the owner's manual about memory settings and use. If dual-channel, the BIOS can sense the missing module not being there.
Should be markings by each memory slot as to "Bank O Slot 0" and similar. "Bank 0" must be first populated.
Maybe pulling the BIOS battery and mains power, reset the BIOS to default, and then trying again will cure the problem.
Is the memory certified to be compatible with that model motherboard?
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Postby OneSpirit » Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:02 pm

Kingston is a major memory brand I would think it is certified. The memory slots are marked 1 and 2 ... I made sure it was in the first slot. I will try and reset the bios.
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Postby Karlsweldt » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:43 am

Check the QVL (qualified vendor list) on the Gigabyte site. That Kingston module is intended for 1.5 volt power. If power is only .1 volt lower, may not page properly.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Postby OneSpirit » Fri Sep 08, 2017 3:35 pm

I tried resetting the CMOS but still no luck ... I tried to find gigabyte's qvl list, but I can't find anything on the 8gb memory from Kingston. It only list the 4gb DDR3 1600 :( It will boot up with the 4gb 1333 that I think is causing the browsers not to work ... just stall. The mobo is suppose to work with 1600. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: Getting Short continuous BIOS Beeps

Postby Karlsweldt » Sat Sep 09, 2017 6:58 am

Check each 4 GB module by itself. If the system boots up, then a browser problem may not be memory related, but possibly a malware issue. You don't need more than maybe 3 associate search engines or browser references. Stay with reputable names. That old adage of "too many cooks spoil the broth" can apply as "too many search engines stall the system".
You can do a memory test on each or both modules without having to do a normal boot. Or within Windows operation.
https://www.memtest86.com/
https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/lib ... 00221.aspx
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Next

Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests