How many ways can a ball roll????

Moderator: The Mod Squad

How many ways can a ball roll????

Postby pacedc » Sat Oct 03, 2015 2:43 pm

First off Im a newbie... Complete newbie... This is what I have, asrock 990fx extreme9, AMD 6300 phenom 2 black edition, gigabyte gtx 770 4gb, 975w power supply, corsair water cooled, 6gb ram, 1tb hd. All drivers are up to date.

Im looking to make BIOS settings match hardware. I have spent hours upon hours researching and cant seem to find a simple, this is what this is and that is what that is. I'm loosing my mind.

Went on to the asrock site and updated my mobo.

The reason I want to adjust BIOS is PC only freezes during games. Upgraded the video card figured that would fix it. Nope...
Completely deleted my system and restored everything. that didn't do it. Then after researching some stuff discovered this thing called overclocking that lead me to BIOS. From my research I have discovered that incorrect BIOS settings will cause problems. I do not want to just go in, start messing around and completely screw up my PC.

What I'm looking for. Basic BIOS tutorial or a this is what your BIOS should look like if you have this. If that even exists.

Thank you for any suggestions. I hope this is in the correct forum. If not im sorry.
pacedc
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Re: How many ways can a ball roll????

Postby Karlsweldt » Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:17 pm

Welcome to Motherboards.org.
The best setting for memory timing is the SPD factor, in the BIOS pages. And if dual-channel or triple-channel, all modules must be matched as to amount and speed, and be of greater than "value" rating.
A "value" grade of memory is what just makes the grade as to speed. May not have higher speed tolerance.
A "premium" grade of memory has more tolerance for higher speed, and fewer causes of memory dump.