The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 5:21 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bios Problem ???
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 4:06 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 2:59 pm
Posts: 2
I have a Abit AB9 Quad GT mobo with windows xp sp2. This pc has not been used for 5 years. I got it running but, when it starts it go's thru the bios settings, the bios hangs up at detecting drives for about 3 minutes then it finish loading. When I go in my computer it shows the 2 hard drives and my floppy, but not the 2 cd/dvd drives. My bios version is 1.06.57. I thought I could find the updated bios to fix the problem, but I can not find it. I want to install windows 7 but I can't. I'm able to get in the bios to set it to boot from the cd drive, but it won't work. Any suggestions ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:29 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
No win7 drivers, and with an 8GB max RAM, the thing would be a bit on the sluggish side anyway..

time for a new build.

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:00 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Most of the time Vista drivers will work but yeah, windows 7 is not officially supported:
http://abit.ws/page/en/motherboard/moth ... NFO=Driver

If you don't have the budget for a new build, at the very least change out the CR2032 3V lithium coin cell CMOS battery with a brand new one, that way the bios settings will be somewhat normal again.

Oh and ofcourse check all cabling and see if there's any bad capacitors in there in the Power Supply or on the motherboard

http://www.badcaps.net for more info on that

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:32 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20860
Location: 07438
After maybe four or five years, the BIOS/CMOS battery is dead. Get a new one. Then do a reset to default for the BIOS pages, and then set each feature for how the system is built. Use the SPD factor for memory check and settings. Memory should be non-ECC type.
The Win 7 OS install disk is a multi-layer DVD.. won't work with a CD or older DVD drives!

For upgrade to Win 7 or Win 8, minimum needs:
1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
1 gigabyte (GB) RAM (32-bit) or 2 GB RAM (64-bit)
16 GB available hard disk space (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)
DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 12:10 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3671
Location: Washington D.C.
pull off the floppy, and the extra hdd, and one of the two roms.
how much ram is in those 4 slots? check the single rom is jumpered master or cable select on its ide cable, and on the end of the cable.
what mode is the sata controller in, in the bios? typically there's IDE, AHCI, and RAID. prolly be best to be in AHCI.
if you can't get one of the ide roms working in this configuration, try the other.... are they both dead? can you switch out for another ide rom, or maybe a sata dvd rom?

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 9:20 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 2:59 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks For The Help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group