The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: P5K BIOS hang
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:57 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 10
First post here, thanks to fussnfeathers for the invite :D

Anyhow, I've been long plagued with a problem on my P5K Motherboard.

When I start the machine it hangs for approximately 45 seconds at the BIOS logo screen. I can somewhat improve the time by disconnecting all USB mass storage devices, but I also have USB keyboard, mouse, and speakers.

I updated BIOS to 1201, for these reasons:

Quote:
P5K BIOS 1201
1. Support new CPUs. (Link removed )
2. Fix the system sometimes takes about 30 seconds to get into the OS when many USB devices are plugged into the system.


The updated BIOS didn't seem to help whatsoever :?

So I'm asking if anyone might know of a solution for this problem.

TIA, Al


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:15 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
You've checked for bad caps? That board is within the timeframe.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:23 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 10
Yeah, there are no visible defects on the board.....once it's booted into the OS it performs as it should.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:13 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Did you set the bios to defaults, saved and exited then let it boot once more?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:03 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:38 pm
Posts: 8640
Location: Midlands UK
what ram are you using

_________________
"Only two thing are infinite, the universe and human stupidity,and Im not sure about the former." Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:18 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
I think that would be Crucial,
http://www.motherboards.org/forums/view ... ht=#732620
but no idea what model and whether or not it's on the QVL for this board.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:38 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
Well, I was finally able to get into Asus' site. I'm pretty certain he's using the right RAM, he's got about as much chance of messing that up as Evasive does. :lol:

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:22 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 10
evasive wrote:
Did you set the bios to defaults, saved and exited then let it boot once more?

yep, tried that but still no luck. I should add that this is not a new problem, I first detected it when I installed a USB hub with a few thumbdrives connected to it. That, combined with a USB external drive and a printer that acts as another mass storage device (built in card reader) is simply too many devices for the machine.
Funny thing is, I've had more devices connected to my HTPC with an mATX Asus board, and it boots as normal.
cooper wrote:
what ram are you using

evasive wrote:
I think that would be Crucial,
http://www.motherboards.org/forums/view ... ht=#732620
but no idea what model and whether or not it's on the QVL for this board.

Correct, it's Crucial Ballistix, PC6400, 2 X 2GB.

It is actually on the QVL, but I had to RMA it to Crucial about a year ago. Tech support informed me there were problems @ 2.2volts using a P35 chipset, the new modules run @ 2.0 volts, but no change with the slow loading.

I do run the bus speed @400Mhz, up from the stock 333Mhz, but this has absolutely no effect on the slow loading time either, with or without the OC.

Wondering if I should just invest in a P45 board, I wouldn't want to spend too much on this "older" machine, but I could probably find a decent one cheap.

I hate not being able to figure out a problem :?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:18 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Hmmm is there an option in the bios for booting from USB devices? If so, disable that completely. Sometimes it's hidden in the general USB settings, where you can set them to non-boot only.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 2:10 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 10
evasive wrote:
Hmmm is there an option in the bios for booting from USB devices?

There is indeed, I've booted Linux from my flash drive several times.

I'll check that out momentarily.

*Edit, I've disabled USB boot options, powered down the printer (which acts as a mass storage device), removed my flash drives from the hub, and the BIOS hang is down to about 10 seconds. I can live with that until I either upgrade the system or purchase a new board. I just know it shouldn't do this, but since the BIOS upgrade to solve this specific problem didn't help, I'm pretty much out of ideas :?

Anyhow, thanks to everyone for their help, much appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group