P5K BIOS hang

Moderator: The Mod Squad

P5K BIOS hang

Postby Alfonz » Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:57 pm

First post here, thanks to fussnfeathers for the invite :D

Anyhow, I've been long plagued with a problem on my P5K Motherboard.

When I start the machine it hangs for approximately 45 seconds at the BIOS logo screen. I can somewhat improve the time by disconnecting all USB mass storage devices, but I also have USB keyboard, mouse, and speakers.

I updated BIOS to 1201, for these reasons:

P5K BIOS 1201
1. Support new CPUs. (Link removed )
2. Fix the system sometimes takes about 30 seconds to get into the OS when many USB devices are plugged into the system.


The updated BIOS didn't seem to help whatsoever :?

So I'm asking if anyone might know of a solution for this problem.

TIA, Al
Alfonz
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:20 pm

Postby fussnfeathers » Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:15 pm

You've checked for bad caps? That board is within the timeframe.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby Alfonz » Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:23 pm

Yeah, there are no visible defects on the board.....once it's booted into the OS it performs as it should.
Alfonz
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:20 pm

Postby evasive » Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:13 am

Did you set the bios to defaults, saved and exited then let it boot once more?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Copper » Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:03 am

what ram are you using
"Only two thing are infinite, the universe and human stupidity,and Im not sure about the former." Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)
Copper
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 8640
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:38 pm
Location: Midlands UK

Postby evasive » Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:18 am

I think that would be Crucial,
http://www.motherboards.org/forums/view ... ht=#732620
but no idea what model and whether or not it's on the QVL for this board.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby fussnfeathers » Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:38 am

Well, I was finally able to get into Asus' site. I'm pretty certain he's using the right RAM, he's got about as much chance of messing that up as Evasive does. :lol:
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby Alfonz » Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:22 pm

evasive wrote:Did you set the bios to defaults, saved and exited then let it boot once more?

yep, tried that but still no luck. I should add that this is not a new problem, I first detected it when I installed a USB hub with a few thumbdrives connected to it. That, combined with a USB external drive and a printer that acts as another mass storage device (built in card reader) is simply too many devices for the machine.
Funny thing is, I've had more devices connected to my HTPC with an mATX Asus board, and it boots as normal.
cooper wrote:what ram are you using

evasive wrote:I think that would be Crucial,
http://www.motherboards.org/forums/view ... ht=#732620
but no idea what model and whether or not it's on the QVL for this board.

Correct, it's Crucial Ballistix, PC6400, 2 X 2GB.

It is actually on the QVL, but I had to RMA it to Crucial about a year ago. Tech support informed me there were problems @ 2.2volts using a P35 chipset, the new modules run @ 2.0 volts, but no change with the slow loading.

I do run the bus speed @400Mhz, up from the stock 333Mhz, but this has absolutely no effect on the slow loading time either, with or without the OC.

Wondering if I should just invest in a P45 board, I wouldn't want to spend too much on this "older" machine, but I could probably find a decent one cheap.

I hate not being able to figure out a problem :?
Alfonz
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:20 pm

Postby evasive » Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:18 am

Hmmm is there an option in the bios for booting from USB devices? If so, disable that completely. Sometimes it's hidden in the general USB settings, where you can set them to non-boot only.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Alfonz » Wed Mar 10, 2010 2:10 pm

evasive wrote:Hmmm is there an option in the bios for booting from USB devices?

There is indeed, I've booted Linux from my flash drive several times.

I'll check that out momentarily.

*Edit, I've disabled USB boot options, powered down the printer (which acts as a mass storage device), removed my flash drives from the hub, and the BIOS hang is down to about 10 seconds. I can live with that until I either upgrade the system or purchase a new board. I just know it shouldn't do this, but since the BIOS upgrade to solve this specific problem didn't help, I'm pretty much out of ideas :?

Anyhow, thanks to everyone for their help, much appreciated.
Alfonz
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:20 pm


Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron