Can't change maximum hard drive capacity in BIOS Help!

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Can't change maximum hard drive capacity in BIOS Help!

Postby OneSpirit » Tue Nov 10, 2009 8:31 pm

I have a Intel\gateway D845GERG3 mobo ... the bios string is ...
RG84510A.15A.0037.P15.0304012013
I can't change the maximum hhd capacity ... it's set a 2.1G when I try to highlight it, it simply moves past it ... I trying installing the BIOS update, but no change ... why won't it let me change the hhd maximum capacity from 2.1G? Why won't it highlight that area? Why does it skip by it? How can I get the bios to see the whole 20G hhd and more?
I have a simliar board in this system you can see in my sig. ... it has no problems what so ever seeing my 160G hhd. What's the deal here? I don't get it.
Help!
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby OneSpirit » Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:55 pm

Well I did some checking ... I took out the 80G data drive in this machine and connected to the other machine and the bios saw the whole 80G ... and the machine bios I'm running now ...when I put in the IBM drive shows 2.1 G ... so it's the drive. I have no idea why it is doing it ... but it is ... when I did the check with the WD it saw both the 20G and the 2.! G ... really weird ... When I removed the data before formatting it showed 18G ... so I don't get it ... all I know is ...I have to use another hard drive.


PROBLEM AS SOLVED AS IT'S GOING TO GET ... NEW HHD NEEDED
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

PROBLEM SOLVED! :)

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:25 am

Oh my! Am I a dummy or what! I was checking the pin on the drive and used a magnify glass to get a good looked and discovered that there is a pin setting for 2G!:roll: ... that was the problem ... so PROBLEM COMPLETELY SOLVED .
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby evasive » Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:18 am

ah the joy of recognition. trust me you're not alone in stumbling over this one 8)
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby bdub » Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:36 am

whoa, that must be a pretty old drive to have a 2G limit pinout!
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Nov 12, 2009 12:25 pm

Well it's been a while since they made 20G hhd I would image ... but yea ... that one was definitely a brain fart :roll: ... hope this little adventure will help someone else in the future. :oops:
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby evasive » Thu Nov 12, 2009 1:32 pm

bdub wrote:whoa, that must be a pretty old drive to have a 2G limit pinout!


20GB was mainstream in 1999/2000 so yeah, that was 10 years ago.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests