The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:53 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 8:31 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I have a Intel\gateway D845GERG3 mobo ... the bios string is ...
RG84510A.15A.0037.P15.0304012013
I can't change the maximum hhd capacity ... it's set a 2.1G when I try to highlight it, it simply moves past it ... I trying installing the BIOS update, but no change ... why won't it let me change the hhd maximum capacity from 2.1G? Why won't it highlight that area? Why does it skip by it? How can I get the bios to see the whole 20G hhd and more?
I have a simliar board in this system you can see in my sig. ... it has no problems what so ever seeing my 160G hhd. What's the deal here? I don't get it.
Help!

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:55 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well I did some checking ... I took out the 80G data drive in this machine and connected to the other machine and the bios saw the whole 80G ... and the machine bios I'm running now ...when I put in the IBM drive shows 2.1 G ... so it's the drive. I have no idea why it is doing it ... but it is ... when I did the check with the WD it saw both the 20G and the 2.! G ... really weird ... When I removed the data before formatting it showed 18G ... so I don't get it ... all I know is ...I have to use another hard drive.


PROBLEM AS SOLVED AS IT'S GOING TO GET ... NEW HHD NEEDED

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: PROBLEM SOLVED! :)
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:25 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Oh my! Am I a dummy or what! I was checking the pin on the drive and used a magnify glass to get a good looked and discovered that there is a pin setting for 2G!:roll: ... that was the problem ... so PROBLEM COMPLETELY SOLVED .

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:18 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
ah the joy of recognition. trust me you're not alone in stumbling over this one 8)

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:36 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3671
Location: Washington D.C.
whoa, that must be a pretty old drive to have a 2G limit pinout!

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 12:25 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well it's been a while since they made 20G hhd I would image ... but yea ... that one was definitely a brain fart :roll: ... hope this little adventure will help someone else in the future. :oops:

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 1:32 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
bdub wrote:
whoa, that must be a pretty old drive to have a 2G limit pinout!


20GB was mainstream in 1999/2000 so yeah, that was 10 years ago.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group