how could i edit my vmware BIOS DMI?

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby evasive » Sun Oct 18, 2009 12:25 am

I think some things get confused here.

root mode has to do with the Intel VT-x then? What hardware are you running underneath vmware?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby hayden000 » Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:12 pm

VT-x?its not XEN. its vmware workstation. now don't talk about my linux, just talk about vmware bios. my vmware workstaion just been installed on my Winxp. on my notepad. i just make an experience. i wanna know why SUN vbox could modify the bios' Serial number,but vmware can't. maybe its cuz of vmware bios. its said vmware bios is very special. it just look like phoenix. base on intel 440BX motherboard. maybe it can't be modified,after all, its very different from real bios....
and, http://communities.vmware.com/thread/10817
you could refer to above link ...
hayden000
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:34 pm

Postby evasive » Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:51 pm

Well, in that thread you see what you need to do to replace the bios logo, the same applies to modifying the serial number, you'll need to extract a working bios file from the executable, edit that with your favorite phoenix bios editor and load it at runtime into your vmware session with the undocumented switch. It's too bad that thread is about version 5.x where you're running 6.x most likely, thus the bios "image" is lurking on another address inside the vmware exe file.

Have fun.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby hayden000 » Mon Oct 19, 2009 6:10 am

as what i said in first posted. i've done as the link mentioned. but the System serial number(looks like:VMware-xxxx...) can't be modified. even i try edit it by DMISCOPE, but was told the info. is write-protected. whatever vmware5.x ro 6.x . ..sad....
hayden000
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:34 pm

Postby evasive » Tue Oct 20, 2009 2:42 am

well, you could ask the people at vmware if there's an SDK for this...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Previous

Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests