The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:34 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:06 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 6
hi everyone! i have a gateway desktop computer with the following bios version: EV91510A.15A.0123

i am trying to find a newer version of this bios, but i simply can't find it on gateway's site. i can't contact them for help because tech support on the computer has long expired. i did some searching around and the closest topic i can find to my problem can be found here (by the way, i'm sorry for the format the link was posted in, but i'm not allowed to post any urls yet):

h t t p : / / w w w . wimsbios. c o m /phpBB2/topic7591.html

the main difference between my problem and dmb's problem is that i have not yet flashed another version on top of EV91510A.15A.0123. also, i don't understand how AG91510J.15A.0816 can be the newest version of this bios, since they don't even start with the same letters. does anybody know where i can start? i've checked on intel's site as well as gateway's site, but i must not be very good at finding things, because i haven't found a newer version of this bios version. please help! if i have not given enough information, i would be more than happy to do so; simply let me know what information you need. thanks for reading this :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:02 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Some people have managed to flash the intel bios and keep their firewire running but others seem to have a dead board.

What system model do you have?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:35 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 8
I have a Emachine T3882 and I emergency flashed the mb with the retail intel BIOS. There are few tricks involved, but huge advantages. I too was told a bios update was not available.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 6:20 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 6
evasive wrote:
Some people have managed to flash the intel bios and keep their firewire running but others seem to have a dead board.

What system model do you have?

I'm using a Gateway 7310S. One time, the motherboard was actually dead and needed to be replaced, so I'm not sure if they replaced it with the exact same one that I bought with the computer. I don't really mind missing Firewire functionality, actually, but it would be pretty bad if my entire computer stopped working because of a bad Intel flash.

If losing the use of my entire system is avoidable, I would gladly attempt it. What is the procedure?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 6:44 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 8
if the mobo is a pureblood intel (labeled), you run the risk of scraping it unless you have a known compatible (.bio file) bios of the mobo. the .bio would be in any of the previous releases of known good bios update. I would hunt this down first.

If it is an intel board, you have the option of "emergency flashing" the board by putting a compatible intel .bio file on either a cd or a floppy, removing the configuration jumper from the board, and turning the system on. The system reads the .bio file, and then shuts down...you put the jumper back on turn the system on and you should be good. I had to go directly to the bios setup to disable my onboard lan (othwise it would have caused my system not to boot)...

Sites of interest (they apply to my board specifically, but any intel board should do)...

http://www.emachines.com/support/product_support.html
http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERBD/I ... mvr2.shtml
http://www.techsupportforum.com/hardwar ... rsion.html
http://www.wimsbios.com/phpBB2/topic7591.html
http://www.techsupportforum.com/hardwar ... rsion.html
http://www.e4allupgraders.info/dir1/mot ... sers.shtml
http://s8.zetaboards.com/emachineupgraders/forum/1607/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 2:43 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 6
bsimecek wrote:
if the mobo is a pureblood intel (labeled), you run the risk of scraping it unless you have a known compatible (.bio file) bios of the mobo. the .bio would be in any of the previous releases of known good bios update. I would hunt this down first.

If it is an intel board, you have the option of "emergency flashing" the board by putting a compatible intel .bio file on either a cd or a floppy, removing the configuration jumper from the board, and turning the system on. The system reads the .bio file, and then shuts down...you put the jumper back on turn the system on and you should be good. I had to go directly to the bios setup to disable my onboard lan (othwise it would have caused my system not to boot)...



Thanks for your reply!

What do you mean by pureblood Intel? If there was an Intel sticker on the outside of my case, is that the label you're referring to? (lol, sorry I'm really new to this).

Also, what is the compatible bios of the mobo that you're referring to? I looked at the BIOS update section on the Gateway site, but all the BIOS update files don't seem to match even the first too letters of the current version of my BIOS :(.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 3:42 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
What he means is it has to be a straight, Intel chipset. Many OEM's like Gateway use a modified chipset, and will be labeled as such. Typically, as was said, you risk losing some functionality, like an added-in Firewire controller or RAID, but you do run the risk of the modifications to the chipset being in the controller itself, meaning the system simply will not boot at all. If the northbridge is labeled with an Intel logo and model, then the chances are very good it's a straight-up Intel chipset. If it's labeled anything else, like a Gateway logo, then an Intel BIOS will likely not work at all.

And no, the sticker on the case has nothing to do with it. :P That's just a marketing sticker so people know the system has an Intel processor and what type. (or AMD, if you happened to have an AMD based system). I have one of those stickers I got as a gag gift......"Idiot Outside"

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 10:53 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 6
well, it's definitely preferable if i could get my hands on a copy of gateway's bios version to flash with. i don't want to scrap this computer just yet.

what information could i provide any of you with so that you could perhaps find this version on gateway's site? maybe i'm just bad at searching.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:28 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 8
If you are looking for the bios version that your system came with, a gateway tech should be able to give you a link. You just need to find the .BIO file in the gateway bios install package. If you do attempt an upgrade without an old .bio file, it can be a bit scary.
Even with my upgrade and my extensive experience and research (i didn't have a gateway bios on hand) I was very creeped out after my system rebooted the first time and my system seemed dead! The quark with my system was that the built in network adapter had to be disabled or elese the system wouldn't boot a SECOND time.
If you can find a .BIO file in your gateway bios download and your system board is a "Intel" board from the last few years, you can't loose your board.

Risk vs reward


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:06 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 6
bsimecek wrote:
If you are looking for the bios version that your system came with, a gateway tech should be able to give you a link. You just need to find the .BIO file in the gateway bios install package. If you do attempt an upgrade without an old .bio file, it can be a bit scary.
Even with my upgrade and my extensive experience and research (i didn't have a gateway bios on hand) I was very creeped out after my system rebooted the first time and my system seemed dead! The quark with my system was that the built in network adapter had to be disabled or elese the system wouldn't boot a SECOND time.
If you can find a .BIO file in your gateway bios download and your system board is a "Intel" board from the last few years, you can't loose your board.

Risk vs reward


The only problem is that my tech support for that computer has long expired. Now that Gateway has been bought by Acer, I'm not sure how they will react. Besides, if they give me anything at all, it will be something that we can download ourselves from the Gateway website. I guess the question for me is how to identify the correct version. The first few characters of the BIOS version that the Gateway site indicates is the correct one to me are completely different from the first few characters of the version of my current BIOS. If I upgrade despite the difference, will I lose my computer?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group