The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:55 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: STOP Memory Testing
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:39 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:26 pm
Posts: 106
hi

I'd like to stop Memory Testing during machine startup, but cannot find this option in the BIOS.

I have the mainboard MT63 N2801 D33032 from Shuttle and my BIOS is:
Code:
Award WorkstationBIOS v6.00PC
MT63S00T ATI RS300+SB200


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:09 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20861
Location: 07438
Should be a control line on the 'advanced' settings page, to enable a quick start-up check. Every computer will go through at least one scan of memory prior to completion for the handover to the OS. You could also end the memory test by pressing the 'esc' key once or twice.. sometimes, it would be the 'space' bar.
The POST process will check up to 100 statistics of a system, to ensure all is as noted on the BIOS pages, and is ready for action, before the bootstrap.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 4:38 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:26 pm
Posts: 106
Karlsweldt wrote:
Should be a control line on the 'advanced' settings page, to enable a quick start-up check. Every computer will go through at least one scan of memory prior to completion for the handover to the OS. You could also end the memory test by pressing the 'esc' key once or twice.. sometimes, it would be the 'space' bar.
The POST process will check up to 100 statistics of a system, to ensure all is as noted on the BIOS pages, and is ready for action, before the bootstrap.


thx, but I don't have this option on the 'advanced' settings page.
any other idea?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:50 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20861
Location: 07438
Typically, most BIOS types give a choice as to how intense the POST process works. There should be a control line to allow a brief or quick check of the system, to lessen the time it takes for a boot process. Memory structure may be tested up to 3 times, when only one time is required.
But not all BIOS types use the same features. And some branded computer types will have less features than a non-branded type. "Branded" computer types would be similar to Dell, HP, or others. But they would use motherboards from other manufacturers, such as Asus, ECS, Intel or MSI or others. The motherboard may be a specific design to the brand, or identical except for printing and color of the original manufacturer.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 5:40 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:26 pm
Posts: 106
thx, but that means NOT ALL Bios support booting without Memory Testing?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 4:25 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20861
Location: 07438
All BIOS types will go through a POST memory test at least once, prior to beginning the hand-over to the OS. Reason being, if memory is not working as intended, files cannot be loaded properly from the hard drive reading. And when files in memory become corrupt, they may be written to the hard drive.. causing catastrophic failure.
Memory read/write speed is at least 8x faster than the fastest hard drive speed. Some new "solid-state" hard drives are now coming to market, in 32 GB and higher capacity. But they are oh, so expensive. Yet looking back many years, a 200 MB hard drive would have cost about the same. The fastest hard drive type is still the SCSI, with up to 480 MB/S data speed. But SATA hard drives are giving them a good race.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:19 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
cccc wrote:
thx, but that means NOT ALL Bios support booting without Memory Testing?


The actual thing it is doing is counting if the memory is there to start with. I fear this is one of the confusing texts you will find in most bioses as a result of the cloning in the far-east of the original IBM bios that most if not all AMI/Award/Phoenix bioses have their heritance in. So it is counting up. You can set it for a Quick POST, then it will count only once.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group