STOP Memory Testing

Moderator: The Mod Squad

STOP Memory Testing

Postby cccc » Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:39 pm

hi

I'd like to stop Memory Testing during machine startup, but cannot find this option in the BIOS.

I have the mainboard MT63 N2801 D33032 from Shuttle and my BIOS is:
Code: Select all
Award WorkstationBIOS v6.00PC
MT63S00T ATI RS300+SB200
cccc
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:26 pm

Postby Karlsweldt » Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:09 am

Should be a control line on the 'advanced' settings page, to enable a quick start-up check. Every computer will go through at least one scan of memory prior to completion for the handover to the OS. You could also end the memory test by pressing the 'esc' key once or twice.. sometimes, it would be the 'space' bar.
The POST process will check up to 100 statistics of a system, to ensure all is as noted on the BIOS pages, and is ready for action, before the bootstrap.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby cccc » Wed Jul 08, 2009 4:38 am

Karlsweldt wrote:Should be a control line on the 'advanced' settings page, to enable a quick start-up check. Every computer will go through at least one scan of memory prior to completion for the handover to the OS. You could also end the memory test by pressing the 'esc' key once or twice.. sometimes, it would be the 'space' bar.
The POST process will check up to 100 statistics of a system, to ensure all is as noted on the BIOS pages, and is ready for action, before the bootstrap.


thx, but I don't have this option on the 'advanced' settings page.
any other idea?
cccc
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:26 pm

Postby Karlsweldt » Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:50 am

Typically, most BIOS types give a choice as to how intense the POST process works. There should be a control line to allow a brief or quick check of the system, to lessen the time it takes for a boot process. Memory structure may be tested up to 3 times, when only one time is required.
But not all BIOS types use the same features. And some branded computer types will have less features than a non-branded type. "Branded" computer types would be similar to Dell, HP, or others. But they would use motherboards from other manufacturers, such as Asus, ECS, Intel or MSI or others. The motherboard may be a specific design to the brand, or identical except for printing and color of the original manufacturer.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby cccc » Sun Jul 12, 2009 5:40 am

thx, but that means NOT ALL Bios support booting without Memory Testing?
cccc
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:26 pm

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Jul 13, 2009 4:25 pm

All BIOS types will go through a POST memory test at least once, prior to beginning the hand-over to the OS. Reason being, if memory is not working as intended, files cannot be loaded properly from the hard drive reading. And when files in memory become corrupt, they may be written to the hard drive.. causing catastrophic failure.
Memory read/write speed is at least 8x faster than the fastest hard drive speed. Some new "solid-state" hard drives are now coming to market, in 32 GB and higher capacity. But they are oh, so expensive. Yet looking back many years, a 200 MB hard drive would have cost about the same. The fastest hard drive type is still the SCSI, with up to 480 MB/S data speed. But SATA hard drives are giving them a good race.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby evasive » Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:19 pm

cccc wrote:thx, but that means NOT ALL Bios support booting without Memory Testing?


The actual thing it is doing is counting if the memory is there to start with. I fear this is one of the confusing texts you will find in most bioses as a result of the cloning in the far-east of the original IBM bios that most if not all AMI/Award/Phoenix bioses have their heritance in. So it is counting up. You can set it for a Quick POST, then it will count only once.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests