MSI PM8M-V Bios question

Moderator: The Mod Squad

MSI PM8M-V Bios question

Postby phlashman » Mon Feb 02, 2009 12:21 pm

I've got some experience with these things but I'm a bit puzzled by this one...need some sage advice please.

1: Gen Info

MSI Mobo PM8M-V MS-7104:2.A

Celeron D SL7NY 3.2 Ghz (Which, if what I've read is correct) this Mobo supports.

Everything boots fine when I reset the bios but then it asks me to enter cpu settings. This is where I get lost and confused. I've tried through trial and error to change the frequency settings but it doesn't accept the changes.

The Bios chip has "Winbond" stamped on it...I'm not familiar with this bios.

I'm obviously overlooking something any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks

'
phlashman
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:05 pm

Welcome to Motherboards.org!
Here is a specs link on that model.
If the CPU is indeed supported by this model, then there should not be a query about "settings".
Whenever doing a BIOS flash, it is important to clear the CMOS and reset all features to default when the computer is shut down after the completion of the program write.
The only way to ensure a complete reset is done is to pull the mains power cord, and attempt a few starts to drain any PSU reserves. Then remove the battery, and move the jumper to the 'clear' position for 10 seconds or so. Place the jumper back to 'normal', then replace the battery and power up. You should go immediately into the BIOS to set the preferences.
With any processor, its FSB needs reflect on what type of memory is used. If slower than required, the system will be unstable or not start at all. If faster than required, there should be no problems. The BIOS should be set to auto-detect memory timings, and the SPD factor used to set them.